Thread: RROD confusion...

Thanks

RROD confusion...

first of all, hello, im new... right, i'm a complete noob with xbox's and wondered if someone could shed some light on this problem?... i've only owned this one just over a week which i bought faulty from a friend for cheap, he said it needed reflowing and the shop want £30 to do this... the day after i bought it and did some research, i managed to fix the xbox by putting single penny's wrapped in electrical tape under the motherboard in various spots, resulting in the motherboard been raised slightly and not flexing as so, which also ment the DVD drive was pressing down more on the GPU which fixed the reflowing problem. this fix only lasted 3 days, then i was greeted by RROD again, so i took the xbox apart once again, had a look at everything and all was fine, after tinkering abit, i pressed down on the heatsink over the GPU slightly, and it started working whilst ever i was applying pressure, i gathered the lose heatsink was the problem, so i got rid of the xclamps and used bolts and washers on both heat sinks, after tightening up slightly, but not too tight, i got 2 red lights, which obviously means overheating, so i re-applied thermal paste on to the cpu and gpu, and both heat sinks (after cleaning off the old), and now i constantly keep getting 3 rrod, doesn't matter how tight or lose i do the heatsinks, i've spent a full day screwing and unscrewing precisely but nothing... the power button on the RF board doesn't work either anymore, but the controller and eject buttons work? perhaps this could be related to the RROD i'm getting?... I'm tempted to try the oven bake method as my last resort!

sorry about the essay! hope someone can help?!...

Thanks
    Sling it in the bin....

Thanks
    it's actually getting to that stage, bleeding thing ¬_¬
    my wii has never let me down! as for the xbox, pfft! if only nintendo would release some awesome games!

Thanks