Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: New Wiimote not working with CFG USB bootloader - or HBC

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    New Wiimote not working with CFG USB bootloader - or HBC

    I'm pretty sure this is a known issue but I'll ask anyway..

    I have everything set up great. Softmodded the Wii according the guide, got the USB hard drive up and running.. the problem is the new Wiimote.

    It's one of these Nintendo issued ones,

    BKERVL036

    And it doesn't respond in HBC or in the CFG bootloader. Everything else works fine. For now, I can just use a different (older) wiimote to choose things, then the games work with the new wiimote no problem.

    Is there any solution possibly in the works? I've scoured the area and there isn't an older version of the wiimote to be purchased anywhere :-\

    Thanks for all your help and all the great guides on this site. It's very much appreciated.

  2. #2
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Pob3008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    6,832
    Thanks
    909
    Thanked 2,105 Times in 1,487 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    There is no solution at this time

  3. 1 User Says Thank You Pob3008 For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thank you.

    Quote Originally Posted by Pob3008 View Post
    There is no solution at this time
    I figured as much from what I was able to read, but thank you kindly for the reply.
    Now here's the million dollar question: Is there anywhere online to readily order NEW in the box older model Wiimotes? I've found they don't always stand up to aggressive use (i.e. kids) so I'm a bit leary of purchasing anything used...

    Thanks again for all your help. This site is fantastic. <3

  5. #4
    Senior Member Shift_Lock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The City of Rain
    Posts
    5,932
    Thanks
    1,320
    Thanked 1,393 Times in 1,030 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    someone said the motion plus wiimote bundled with fling smash works.

    FlingSmash [Bundle] [Wii Game]

    Did I come off like a jerk?? Read more here


    [/spoiler]

  6. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have been figuring this out aswell. The Wii remote that came with Zelda Skyward Sword Works Just fine and it has the wii motion plus inside. It must be something Nintendo has done with their regular remotes to prevent usage. I tried installing HBC to a new wii the other day, the new remote turned off before I could even select anything. So I Decided to go get my own wiimotes from home and then was able to actually install it. I think that I will be buying games that come with wii motes, then try them at home withough damaging them and if they are ones that work like the one that came with "zelda skyward sword" then keep them. otherwise Il just bring them back then next day. (Tough stuff just to be able to play games for free..)
    Last edited by Razorskills; 01-10-2012 at 12:25 PM.

  7. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Us

    Quote Originally Posted by Razorskills View Post
    I have been figuring this out aswell. The Wii remote that came with Zelda Skyward Sword Works Just fine and it has the wii motion plus inside. It must be something Nintendo has done with their regular remotes to prevent usage. I tried installing HBC to a new wii the other day, the new remote turned off before I could even select anything. So I Decided to go get my own wiimotes from home and then was able to actually install it. I think that I will be buying games that come with wii motes, then try them at home withough damaging them and if they are ones that work like the one that came with "zelda skyward sword" then keep them. otherwise Il just bring them back then next day. (Tough stuff just to be able to play games for free..)


    I can confirm that the Nintendo Wii Super Mario Brothers Gaming Console Bundle - Black does not work when I pull up wiiflow. Luckily my brother had two of the old white wii remotes without motion plus, oddly one worked and one did not work. I would pick the game with the white remote and then press the home button, reconnect the new black wii and its good to go. I don't get why one white would work and the other would not. At this point its a lil annoying, I wish there was a confirmed workaround however with the motionplus remotes.

  8. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Since making my original post, I have acquired a new Wiimote from the WiiPlay MOTION package, that comes bundled with a game. It cost $10 more, but this mote is confirmed to work with HBC and CFG and anything else I've thrown at it.

    One possible solution is to take your non-working black Wiimote, buy the Wiiplay motion, switch em out and return the Wiiplay Motion. I'm not advocating anything illegal or unethical of course - simply suggesting a way to have a working, functioning Wiimote seeing as how Nintendo has chosen to cripple their new ones.

    After all, they use force to take away our right to code for the hardware that we have purchased with our money. We use ingenuity to take that right back.

    /soapbox

  9. #8
    Senior Member Shift_Lock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The City of Rain
    Posts
    5,932
    Thanks
    1,320
    Thanked 1,393 Times in 1,030 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by TheyStoleMyGCSupport View Post
    I'm pretty sure this is a known issue but I'll ask anyway..

    I have everything set up great. Softmodded the Wii according the guide, got the USB hard drive up and running.. the problem is the new Wiimote.

    It's one of these Nintendo issued ones,

    BKERVL036

    And it doesn't respond in HBC or in the CFG bootloader. Everything else works fine. For now, I can just use a different (older) wiimote to choose things, then the games work with the new wiimote no problem.

    Is there any solution possibly in the works? I've scoured the area and there isn't an older version of the wiimote to be purchased anywhere :-\

    Thanks for all your help and all the great guides on this site. It's very much appreciated.
    no solution as of yet..

    Did I come off like a jerk?? Read more here


    [/spoiler]

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •