Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Legitimate Skyward Sword not working after installing Homebrew

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Legitimate Skyward Sword not working after installing Homebrew

    Hi everyone,

    --- I had a 4.3U Wii had wanted to by pass the Skyward Sword system update. I installed Homebrew and Priiloader and reverted to 4.1U and now when i put Skyward in and press start the screen goes black and the game never starts. My other Wii games still run through the disc channel normally just not this one. Please help, the full story is below if you want to know more info. ---


    I bought a Wii for my girlfriend about a year ago from two Asian girls from a website called Gumtree Australia. They left out a lot of crucial information and it wasn't until I met them they told me the Wii was a gift to them and wasn't PAL but instead NTSC. I asked them if it was modded or not and they said they didn't know. Anyway the Wii was too cheap not to buy so i took it from their hands. When I set it up i bought 3 PAL games from EB Games LOZTP, Lego Batman and Resident Evil 4. Resident evil 4 worked and the other two said the discs were unreadable. I had to order an NTSC copy of TP and returned the games that didn't work. PAL RE4 working led me to believe that the Wii was modded and fast forward to now..

    I bought a NTSC-U copy of Skyward Sword and put it into the Wii. It asked for an update and i accepted thinking it was just an IOS, after this update it asked to perform a System Update. I didn't accept this because if my Wii was modded it may brick it. So i was told to install Priiloader to bypass the update. Also RE4 refused to work after the update from skyward which further made me think it was modded. I installed homebrew from a different website and then followed mauifrog's Softmod any wii guide precisely. My OS is now on 4.1U and both my TP and RE4 are working again but now when i put in Skyward Sword it shows up in the disc channel like normal, after pressing start the screen goes black and the game never loads.

    I have been working on this stupid Wii for days and its caused me so much stress. I just need Skyward to work. I think Skyward may just need a specific IOS to work but I'm unsure. Also my Homebrew is now upside down but i figured out thats because i installed it from a different site that wasn't Wiihacks.

  2. #2
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Pob3008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    6,831
    Thanks
    902
    Thanked 2,104 Times in 1,486 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    Have you tried to play the game via neogamma? To sort the HBC out just reinstall it

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks for the quick reply, I ran it through Neogamma and it just returns me to the Wii home after a few weird flashes. It also said IOS248 during the loading if that means anything.

  4. #4
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Pob3008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    6,831
    Thanks
    902
    Thanked 2,104 Times in 1,486 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    Post a syscheck

    Also u could look at the Skyward Sword guide
    Last edited by Pob3008; 01-03-2012 at 10:50 PM.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    The syscheck app isn't showing up in HBC, am I meant to be using the syscheckb14 ?

  6. #6
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Pob3008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    6,831
    Thanks
    902
    Thanked 2,104 Times in 1,486 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    Yes - this one

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Silly mistake on my part, here you go

    Spoiler


  8. #8
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Pob3008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    6,831
    Thanks
    902
    Thanked 2,104 Times in 1,486 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    Looks like thats ok, have u watched the wii motion plus video?

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I haven't seen the video. Also the motionplus controller I have isn't an official one it cost about 15 dollars from eBay. Do you think I should download a game that uses wii motionplus and play it through usbloader, watch the video, then try Skyward again ? Or is that a waste of time.

  10. #10
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Pob3008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    6,831
    Thanks
    902
    Thanked 2,104 Times in 1,486 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    No, because downloading a game u don't own is piracy. U should be able to watch the video via the skyward sword game that u have, did u read the guide i linked u to?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •