Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: help please!!!!!!

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    help please!!!!!!

    Hi All

    About a week ago i changed my laser on my 3 yr old chipped wii as games were starting not to work one by one, never done anything like this before but followed the tutorial on here. Everything was good until yesterday when a disk error popped up whilst playing cod. I turned it off and tried another game which didnt work 1st go but tried again and it loaded up as normal, played it for an hour and the message popped up again. Now no discs are recognised by the wii even originals. I have just stripped it down to the drive again and have put a disk in, when the disc is inserted it only spins once...is that normal

    any suggestions as what it could be/ or anything i can check (please be as basic as possible for me)

    Thanks in advance Graham

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    anyone?

    any ideas please

  3. #3
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    Wall-Eyed Mucksucker
    emuhack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Windy City
    Posts
    7,471
    Thanks
    892
    Thanked 2,132 Times in 1,347 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    It sounds like you messed up the install and screwed the drive up... what i would say is this...

    1. Get a new wii drive from ebay (about $30)
    or (the best choice)
    2. Get a Hardrive and USBload your games

  4. #4
    Senior Member Shift_Lock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The City of Rain
    Posts
    5,932
    Thanks
    1,320
    Thanked 1,389 Times in 1,030 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    so first off... playing burned games kills the laser.. secondly your drive might be done..

    Did I come off like a jerk?? Read more here


    [/spoiler]

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    How would i have done that as i had been playing on it for about 10 hrs total? does the ribbon cable have anything to do with the fault. Thinking of having a look under that metal plate to see if anything has come out.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Shift_Lock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The City of Rain
    Posts
    5,932
    Thanks
    1,320
    Thanked 1,389 Times in 1,030 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    the ribbon cable needs to be properly installed..

    Did I come off like a jerk?? Read more here


    [/spoiler]

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by emuhack View Post
    It sounds like you messed up the install and screwed the drive up... what i would say is this...

    1. Get a new wii drive from ebay (about $30)
    or (the best choice)
    2. Get a Hardrive and USBload your games
    dont think i could as i cant read any disks to install anything!

  8. #8
    Forum Administrator BluPhant's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,350
    Thanks
    206
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 720 Posts
    for emuhacks suggestion #2, you dont need any discs. You just need a SD card and a couple of brain cels.

    -Blu

    Softmod ANY Wii
    | USB-FAT32 | Error Index | Chat!
    An Introduction To Wii Hacking - MUST READ for all new Wii Hackers
    If I have been of help to you, please click the "Thanks" icon to the left.



  9. #9
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    Wall-Eyed Mucksucker
    emuhack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Windy City
    Posts
    7,471
    Thanks
    892
    Thanked 2,132 Times in 1,347 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Shift_Lock View Post
    the ribbon cable needs to be properly installed..
    Quote Originally Posted by korkykat View Post
    dont think i could as i cant read any disks to install anything!
    If memory serves me correctly the wii will not boot with a bad ribbon cable install!


  10. 1 User Says Thank You emuhack For This Useful Post


  11. #10
    Forum Administrator BluPhant's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,350
    Thanks
    206
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 720 Posts
    The wii needs something of a drive (even dysfunctional) to start. It depends upon what's busted whether it will work or not, I suppose.

    -Blu

    Softmod ANY Wii
    | USB-FAT32 | Error Index | Chat!
    An Introduction To Wii Hacking - MUST READ for all new Wii Hackers
    If I have been of help to you, please click the "Thanks" icon to the left.



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •