Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Trying to play new game but system needs updated.

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Trying to play new game but system needs updated.

    Hi!

    FNG here. I am in possession of a Wii that I now believe has been softmodded? The person who owns it received it this way, and says there used to be a homebrew channel. They recently formatted it thinking this would remove it, but after reading around on this site I have figured out that formatting it was not the best idea.

    We bought a new game for it thinking that it would just work, but it says the system needs to be updated. (it is running 3.2U)

    Completely naive that anything had been done to this Wii, I tried to update and it failed. This is when I started looking into the system and found out that is has been softmodded, and has Priiloader, which is preventing it from updating (thankfully!)

    It works fine, connects to internet, plays older games, etc but we really want to play this new game (dance party 3.. dont laugh lol)

    I am looking for advice on what to do next. I am a complete NOOB with Wii, but work in the IT field, so I just need a little guidance.

    Thanks in advance, and any help will be greatly appreciated!

    Josh

  2. #2
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Pob3008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    6,830
    Thanks
    897
    Thanked 2,102 Times in 1,485 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    Follow the softmod any wii guide in my sig

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    OK, reading through it now. Anything i need to be careful of since it has already been softmodded? Its unclear to me how I will ever upgrade if I'm not suppose to do it through Nintendo. Thanks for the help.

  4. #4
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Pob3008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    6,830
    Thanks
    897
    Thanked 2,102 Times in 1,485 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    No, should be good to go. By following the guide u will end up on 4.1 system menu which is the desired fw and there is no need to update further than that as games are not system menu specific

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Pob3008, thanks for the help. I read the guide thoroughly, but have hit a road block. Here is what I did:

    1. Formatted a 2gb SD card (with windows)

    2. Extracted MMM-58-61-Hackmii_0.8_BB1.zip to SD card, (since the firmware thats currently on the Wii is 3.2U)

    3. Popped SD card into Wii, cruised to
    wii settings- data managment- channels- SD

    4. boot.dol does not show up.

    5. tried every alternative listed and each time nothing shows up.

    6. tried reformatting with panasonic utility and repeated all steps, still nothing shows up.

    Am I missing something?

    Again, THANK YOU.

    Josh

  6. #6
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    VWA
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    playerkp420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,178
    Thanks
    223
    Thanked 489 Times in 428 Posts
    Try and format the sd card with the quick box unchecked. If nothing else you might have to try a different sd card. 2gb or less not sdhc.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by playerkp420 View Post
    Try and format the sd card with the quick box unchecked. If nothing else you might have to try a different sd card. 2gb or less not sdhc.
    I did this from the start actually. I found some more versions on the bannerbomb website and will be trying those. Thanks.

  8. #8
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    VWA
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    playerkp420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,178
    Thanks
    223
    Thanked 489 Times in 428 Posts
    Yeah just keep trying. I know it can be picky about the sd card.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by playerkp420 View Post
    Yeah just keep trying. I know it can be picky about the sd card.
    So I should probably try another SD card? I'll have to find one.

  10. #10
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,066
    Thanks
    827
    Thanked 2,083 Times in 1,757 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sk_josh View Post
    So I should probably try another SD card? I'll have to find one.
    Yes, some cards just wont work. sandisk is the best one to use.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •