Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Softmod broke. Can't install Hackmi

  1. #1
    New Member gashog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Softmod broke. Can't install Hackmi

    The Super Mario Galaxy 2 update (4.2 something) broke my softmod. I didn't do anything then but now I need the 4.3 firmware for Just Dance and Puss in Boots.
    The broken softmod is keeping my wii from updating.
    I tried the "mod any wii" tutorial again and I can't get past Hackmi. It hangs at "press one".

    I guess I should make it clear that this is my 9 and 12 year old daughters wii and that the only time I touched it was to repair the optical drive. I replaced the laser module. It was then that I softmodded.

    I either have to clean the wii of whatever I installed to prevent updates or re softmod. I would prefer to re softmod as I have read that it's safer.
    Everything here is amazing to me!

  2. #2
    Junior Member dniMretsaM's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    1,142
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 331 Times in 269 Posts
    Have a look at this.
    Quote Originally Posted by sven
    [16:26:34] i'm never sarcastic.
    [16:26:41] feel free to quote me on that.

  3. #3
    New Member gashog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Bannerbomb doesn't work on 4.2, letterbomb works only after 4.3 update and I don't have Zelda or Indiana Jones.
    Everything here is amazing to me!

  4. #4
    Junior Member dniMretsaM's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    1,142
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 331 Times in 269 Posts
    Use BannerBomb v2. Try actually reading the guide.
    Quote Originally Posted by sven
    [16:26:34] i'm never sarcastic.
    [16:26:41] feel free to quote me on that.

  5. #5
    New Member gashog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm using bannerbomb v2 as per guide
    Everything here is amazing to me!

  6. #6
    Junior Member dniMretsaM's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    1,142
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 331 Times in 269 Posts
    If it does not work then you are most likely not on 4.2 (or the other SM versions that BBv2 supports). Look in the upper-right hand corner of Wii Options -> Wii Settings. If it is on 4.2, then you may have more problems than just a broken softmod. Also, have a look at these other exploits you could use.
    Quote Originally Posted by sven
    [16:26:34] i'm never sarcastic.
    [16:26:41] feel free to quote me on that.

  7. #7
    New Member gashog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I just checked. I'm 4.2u
    I guess I need to borrow a game since my only other option would appear be to un mod. Not cool

    Edit: Is there a safer way to un mod other then to completely virginize? Can I undo and start over?
    Last edited by gashog; 12-27-2011 at 10:33 AM.
    Everything here is amazing to me!

  8. #8
    Junior Member dniMretsaM's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    1,142
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 331 Times in 269 Posts
    Do you still have the HBC or BootMii? And how are you getting to the HackMii screen (when it freezes) when trying to re-mod if you're BBv2 doesn't work and you don't have any games with exploits?
    Quote Originally Posted by sven
    [16:26:34] i'm never sarcastic.
    [16:26:41] feel free to quote me on that.

  9. #9
    New Member gashog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The channel is gone. Bootmi is gone. My SD works as expected until Hackmi loads. There must be files from the first softmod that survived the upgrade and formatting.

    Edit: BB does work. I meant that I can't install Hackmii that way.
    Last edited by gashog; 12-27-2011 at 10:57 AM.
    Everything here is amazing to me!

  10. #10
    Junior Member dniMretsaM's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    1,142
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 331 Times in 269 Posts
    OK, that makes more sense. I thought you meant the actual exploit wouldn't work. Residual files shouldn't make any difference. You can launch the HMI on a fully softmodded Wii. It's possible you have a bad download. Try re-downloading. Make sure when you format your SD card you use the full format, not the quick format. Click on the link in my sig titled "FAT32 Formatting" for detailed instructions.
    Quote Originally Posted by sven
    [16:26:34] i'm never sarcastic.
    [16:26:41] feel free to quote me on that.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •