Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Please forgive me for asking this...

  1. #1
    New Member super_sonic1987's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Please forgive me for asking this...

    I got everything taken care of now, but I just recently purchased some Virtual Console games:

    Mega Man X

    Super Smash Bros.

    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time

    The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask

    Adventure Island II (PAL)-- This game was also released on the original Game Boy, as Adventure Island (in America), and I played this when I was young, and I loved it.

    The thing is, when I tried running Adventure Island II, I got an error message saying "This channel cannot be opened." What does this mean, and how can I rectify this? Bearing in mind that the Adventure Island II is PAL region coded...

    Also, I tried running Mega Man X, and it said that I need the Wii Classic Controller. The thing is, I do not have a Wii Classic controller, but I do have a GameCube controller. Will that be sufficient, or is the WCC (Wii Classic Controller) REQUIRED? I have a feeling that I would have gotten the same message for both Zelda games AND Super Smash Bros.

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    138
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by super_sonic1987 View Post
    I got everything taken care of now, but I just recently purchased some Virtual Console games:

    Mega Man X

    Super Smash Bros.

    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time

    The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask

    Adventure Island II (PAL)-- This game was also released on the original Game Boy, as Adventure Island (in America), and I played this when I was young, and I loved it.

    The thing is, when I tried running Adventure Island II, I got an error message saying "This channel cannot be opened." What does this mean, and how can I rectify this? Bearing in mind that the Adventure Island II is PAL region coded...

    Also, I tried running Mega Man X, and it said that I need the Wii Classic Controller. The thing is, I do not have a Wii Classic controller, but I do have a GameCube controller. Will that be sufficient, or is the WCC (Wii Classic Controller) REQUIRED? I have a feeling that I would have gotten the same message for both Zelda games AND Super Smash Bros.
    It let me play both LoZ's and SSB just fine with the Gamecube controller.

    Why would you purchase a game that isn't in your region? (I didn't even know it was possible for Wii Shop channel to let you do that) .

    Have you softmodded your wii following mauifrog's guide? there is a part in it that installs priiloader hacks. one of which allows you to go region-free.

  3. #3
    New Member super_sonic1987's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gamer89420 View Post
    It let me play both LoZ's and SSB just fine with the Gamecube controller.

    Why would you purchase a game that isn't in your region? (I didn't even know it was possible for Wii Shop channel to let you do that) .

    Have you softmodded your wii following mauifrog's guide? there is a part in it that installs priiloader hacks. one of which allows you to go region-free.
    I purchased this not only because I enjoyed this game (on Game Boy as Adventure Island) but because it was unavailable for my region. I loaded up the Priiloader and disabled the Region Locked Channels option, but when I try to run Adventure Island II all I get is a black screen. I know it has something to do with the video mode of Adventure Island II not being supported/being incompatible with the Wii. Is this correctable? The only reason I softmodded my Wii is to be able to enjoy Adventure Island II (Virtual Console).
    Last edited by super_sonic1987; 11-22-2011 at 08:48 AM.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    138
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by super_sonic1987 View Post
    I purchased this not only because I enjoyed this game (on Game Boy as Adventure Island) but because it was unavailable for my region. I loaded up the Priiloader and disabled the Region Locked Channels option, but when I try to run Adventure Island II all I get is a black screen. I know it has something to do with the video mode of Adventure Island II not being supported/being incompatible with the Wii. Is this correctable? The only reason I softmodded my Wii is to be able to enjoy Adventure Island II (Virtual Console).
    so let me understand..... you got past the 'can't be opened' error after you enabled the region hack? and now you're getting a rolling or shaky black and white screen now?

    I know there's a way but i don't want to give you any info that will screw up the wii. so i'll research more. but in the meantime you can google around for something like wiiware region free games, or something similar at your own risk.

  5. 1 User Says Thank You gamer89420 For This Useful Post


  6. #5
    New Member super_sonic1987's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gamer89420 View Post
    so let me understand..... you got past the 'can't be opened' error after you enabled the region hack? and now you're getting a rolling or shaky black and white screen now?

    I know there's a way but i don't want to give you any info that will screw up the wii. so i'll research more. but in the meantime you can google around for something like wiiware region free games, or something similar at your own risk.
    Thank you for the information. The screen is just black when I tried to open up Adventure Island II, and the Remote will not turn on, unless I shut the Wii down, and boot it back up again.

  7. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by super_sonic1987

    Thank you for the information. The screen is just black when I tried to open up Adventure Island II, and the Remote will not turn on, unless I shut the Wii down, and boot it back up again.
    Ya this happened to me too but the games are region free they are Pokemon mystery dungeon lightning squad(works) Pokemon mystery dungeon blazing squad(doesn't work) and Pokemon mystery dungeon stormy squad(doesn't work) they are all wiiware games and if I find out how to fix it I will tell u supersonic1987

  8. #7
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    VWA
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    playerkp420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,179
    Thanks
    223
    Thanked 492 Times in 429 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by flame1928 View Post
    Ya this happened to me too but the games are region free they are Pokemon mystery dungeon lightning squad(works) Pokemon mystery dungeon blazing squad(doesn't work) and Pokemon mystery dungeon stormy squad(doesn't work) they are all wiiware games and if I find out how to fix it I will tell u supersonic1987
    Take a look at the blackscreen guide in the spoiler below.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •