Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Wierd issues, should I just upgrade and start over

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wierd issues, should I just upgrade and start over

    Ive had a soft modded wii on 4.1 for a long time now. Everything was in working order for quite some time until just recently I attempted to load up guitar hero 5 and it no longer worked. I fear that in an attempt to resolve the issue I may have actually take several steps back.

    Here are the details. Soft modded my wii using the bannerbomb exploit back in the day. Since then I've performed various cios updates to increase game compatibility. The most recent of those updates were Hermes cios 222 v5 (default or recommended settings), 249 rev 20. Using the most recent version of configurable usb loader as well. Everything used to work, GH 5, band hero and all of my other games. Suddenly, however, after several months of not playing them, but without changing anything that I know of, both stopped working.

    In an attempt to fix the problem, I promptly attempted to reinstall Hermes cios 222 v5, but I get a hash failure when it goes to download. Also, when I attempt to install any type of wad file, I get a "-1 failed to load" error.

    I've reformatted the sd card, reloaded the data and the problem continues. I can, however, load other programs like emulators just fine off of the sd card.

    My first question is whether or not you folks would recommend that I should fight to try and fix this problem(s) OR would it be advisable to upgrade to 4.3 and start fresh-though I'm not entirely sure of upgrade feasability (Ive also wanted to get netflix going, and this requires updating cios 158 I believe, which necessitates a reinstall of the homebrew channel anyways)
    Last edited by The pants; 11-08-2011 at 09:36 PM.

  2. #2
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Pob3008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    6,832
    Thanks
    911
    Thanked 2,105 Times in 1,487 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    Never a good idea to update for that reason. Post a syscheck so we can see whats going on.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    10-4. Will do. Thanks for the amazingly fast reply! And sorry for the typos. Trying to edit them out, but navigation is limited on the phone sometimes.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    On 4.0 apparently, not 4.1. Syscheck below.

    Spoiler


  5. #5
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Pob3008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    6,832
    Thanks
    911
    Thanked 2,105 Times in 1,487 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    No patched ios 36 is probably why u r getting the -1 error. i would just follow the softmod any wii guide in my sig below, iy will bring u up to date an will solve your issues and give u the best game compatibility configuration

  6. 1 User Says Thank You Pob3008 For This Useful Post


  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    narse1979's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Fairy Land
    Posts
    7,489
    Thanks
    826
    Thanked 1,775 Times in 1,371 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    Well not sure what base ios you have or have had at slots 222 or 223 but I would advise you to revert back to v4 222 (base 38) 223 (base 37 muxed with base 38)

    Looking at your syscheck your ios's are pretty outdated, normally you have ios 36 patched but you have 35 which isn't a massive issue.
    I would run through the mod any wii guide to update...
    Last edited by narse1979; 11-08-2011 at 10:30 PM. Reason: Dam you pob. You must have been typing when I jumped on the thread


  8. 1 User Says Thank You narse1979 For This Useful Post


  9. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you very much for the help and direction. I reinstalled everything following Maui's guide and everything is working!...almost...

    Only issue is that after successfully loading Guitar Hero 5 or Band Hero, when I press the home button and exit, the screen goes black and the wii doesn't respond. I have to power down and turn everything back on to load up something differnt. I've searched the forum and will continue to search, but perhaps there is something easy I am missing.

    Running Band and Guitar Hero on 223 mload with "block ios reload" enabled.

    To be clear, here is what happens 100% of the time;

    1. Load guitar hero 5 or rock band
    2. Play songs and enjoy/make a fool of myself
    3. Get bored, decide to play black ops. Play more songs anyways.
    4. press home button and select "wii menu"
    5. Screen goes black indefinitely, controller light turns off and controller won't reconnect.
    6. Must turn off wii and power back on

    No other game has this problem. My syscheck is below, if it is of any use.

    Spoiler

    Last edited by The pants; 11-09-2011 at 10:37 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •