Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: NTSC Wii with Wiikey 2 - won't load original PAL game

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    NTSC Wii with Wiikey 2 - won't load original PAL game

    I was wondering if anyone had any advice for me on this. I have a Wiikey 2 inside of an NTSC Wii, on 1.3 of course. I'm attempting to load a legit, original PAL game and it will not run no matter what I do. I've tried using the config disc to turn off system updates altogether as well and nothing.

    I think it may be a faulty install, since every now and again, backups won't work when I load them into the disc drive. I'll have to pull the power and reboot it that way, and then it will work again.

    Could it be anything else other than an error during the installation of the chip?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    Wall-Eyed Mucksucker
    emuhack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Windy City
    Posts
    7,471
    Thanks
    892
    Thanked 2,132 Times in 1,347 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    wait... what system menu are you on 1.3?


  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sorry I mean I was using the 1.3 config disc. As far as system menu, I'm not sure at the moment as I'm not home. I'm at work, wink wink. I haven't updated since I had the chip installed and that was maybe a year ago, or a bit less.

  4. #4
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    Wall-Eyed Mucksucker
    emuhack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Windy City
    Posts
    7,471
    Thanks
    892
    Thanked 2,132 Times in 1,347 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    did this just start happening or been like this since the beginning... what game are you trying to load... one that worked before and is not now or a new game all together....

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well it's had problems reading backups ever since I had it installed. It runs at I'm guess around 80% efficiency. 20% of the time it just won't read. It seems to be consistent too, not off and on. It'll run for awhile, then die for awhile. When it stopped working this time, it wouldn't run anything, including games I know work (like Kirby) until I pulled the power.

    As for the game, I'm trying to load Xenoblade after receiving it in the mail today.

    I grabbed another original I had after I powered it back on, Mario Bros Wii and it worked. I tried another backup I know worked before (Kirby), and it ran fine. So I put in Xenoblade....nothing.

    Thanks for the replies

  6. #6
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    Wall-Eyed Mucksucker
    emuhack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Windy City
    Posts
    7,471
    Thanks
    892
    Thanked 2,132 Times in 1,347 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    You might need to update the chip... ???

    idk im more of a softmod guy.... you can softmod and go USB route...

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I spoke to the installer and he said to try a drive key. I may just buy a PAL Wii if this fails. I'm determined to play this lol

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •