Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: Keyboard on USB hub not working with Animal Crossing

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    narse1979's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Fairy Land
    Posts
    7,489
    Thanks
    826
    Thanked 1,775 Times in 1,371 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Simon McClenahan View Post
    I figured out how to get CFG to load with IOS249 by default (mauifrog's downloads uses 248 as a command line argument, very annoying) since loading with 248 doesn't seem to recognized the HDD any more. I have tried loading without the Wii Speak and Ethernet so that it's only the keyboard in the hub, still doesn't work. When I launch Animal Crossing like normal from the original disc, or any other normal channel like Internet or writing a message, the keyboard (and Ethernet) works as expected.

    Is there any way to debug or trace what's going on? I feel like it's a bit of hit and miss right now. Maybe I'll try using a different USB loader.
    How very bad of Mauifrog to do that. Seems to work for most others....


  2. #12
    New Member Simon McClenahan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by narse1979

    How very bad of Mauifrog to do that. Seems to work for most others....
    I'm not complaining about the choice of non-default cios, it's that when things went south after the dx upgrade it took me a while to figure out where it was being set, as a command line argument when launching instead of the configuration file. Not very newbie friendly IMHO.

    Anyway I tried the gx loader with same results, still no keyboard. The only thing that works is using the standard disc loader with the disc, which of course defeats the purpose of the USB drive at least for this game. I should try another game that uses a keyboard, but I'm predicting the same result.

  3. #13
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Any news/updates on this issue? I've been having a similiar issue with this problem, and it seems this thread is the only one that addreses this issue. I've tried loading from222 and 223 as they seem to be the cIOS that address USB functionality, but no dice. What's more, I've also downloaded Zelda classic to HBC and can't get the keyboard to work either. Anywho, I guess I can just use the disc whenever I go online, but like Simon said it defeats the purpose of using a USB loader. Any updates would be appreciated, or it would aso be good to know if there's anyone who doesn't have this problem. Thanks in advance!

  4. #14
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Game Master
    cjizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southeast Ohio
    Posts
    6,240
    Thanks
    1,467
    Thanked 2,585 Times in 1,907 Posts
    Try loading with a cIOS that has a base of 38.

  5. 1 User Says Thank You cjizzle For This Useful Post


  6. #15
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks for the suggestion, sorry for the delayed reply. I'm posting from an android tablet because I'm currently getting my desktop repaired. As such, I'm a little limited in what I can do (I cant download a system check .elf for HBC yet.) I'm pretty sure I have a base 38 cIOS installed though, because I'm running USB loader and it's needed to use the USB ports. I have cIOS38r17 installer by waninkoko on HBC though, if that's any help but like I said before, I've already run it to install usb loader. Actually, I just had an idea: could the problem be that I'm using the upper port on the wii to plug in my keyboard? I know the bottom USB port an only be used for homebrew, so I bet if I got a hub, it would work. THat would explain why Zelda classic isn't working form HBC; I just plugged the reciever in the top USB port. I'll go ahead and give it a try; I'm gonna feel pretty stupid if that's the case. Either way, I'll post a system check as soon as I can. Thanks for the prompt suggestion and patience. I've spent a lot of time on the Learning Center boards since, and am finally starting to understand how IOS functions on the Wii. One thing's for sure, the Wii firmware (or lack thereof) is really unique, and I can't wait to get more involved in this kindof thing. UPDATE: I've tried unplugging the HDD from the bottom port and switching it out with the adapter for the keyboard and running Zelda Classic but still no dice, the keyboard still won't work on homebrew apps. I'm still gong to get a hub and I'm still going to post a system check asap so I'll update semi-regularly with my progress for anyone who's interested.
    Last edited by willparry79; 09-17-2011 at 07:36 AM. Reason: Update

  7. #16
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Alrighty so I did a system check, and here it is:

    Spoiler


    So I'm not sure what the IOS 38 app I mentioned earlier I installed did, but it looks to me like IOS 38 is unmodified so that may be the problem. To make things more interesting, I got a USB hub today, but my HDD does NOT like it and won't even start up from it; it just beeps at me. Anywho, yeah...

  8. #17
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Game Master
    cjizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southeast Ohio
    Posts
    6,240
    Thanks
    1,467
    Thanked 2,585 Times in 1,907 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by willparry79 View Post
    Alrighty so I did a system check, and here it is:

    Spoiler


    So I'm not sure what the IOS 38 app I mentioned earlier I installed did, but it looks to me like IOS 38 is unmodified so that may be the problem. To make things more interesting, I got a USB hub today, but my HDD does NOT like it and won't even start up from it; it just beeps at me. Anywho, yeah...
    Only original discs operate off of IOS. USB Loaders all use cIOS. You could start by installing Hermes with this in slot 222 with a 38 base and try loading with that.

  9. #18
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks for the tip! Trying it out now.
    The heck? It helps if the .dol file is named boot.dol lol. I'm trying it again.

    Quick question: so the installer wants a trucha bug IOS to install off of. Do I want to select 222 there or 249, and then later select 222? Sorry I'm such a noob at this but I just want to make sure I do this right.
    Last edited by oddgriffin; 09-17-2011 at 06:27 PM.

  10. #19
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Game Master
    cjizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southeast Ohio
    Posts
    6,240
    Thanks
    1,467
    Thanked 2,585 Times in 1,907 Posts
    Use 236. The 222 will come up later in the process.

  11. #20
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks much! I did what you said and installed it, but it still isnt working. USB loader has a select IOS option, should I select IOS 222 or 38 when loading animal crossing? Its set to 249 by default.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •