Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Wii Ver4.3J softmod Help

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wii Ver4.3J softmod Help

    Hi All,
    I have a Wii that was purchased in China with Version 4.3J about 3 years ago. A friend of mine bought it and he said it was installed some software. The system is in Japanese and it was able to play copied games from China and any games bought in U.S. However, it is in Japanese and it cannot be changed to English. So I want to convert it to English and be able to change to the US region so that I can use the Netflix as well.

    As I was trying with my system to look for the Netflix, I connect it online and the system did some updates (I think it is updates since it went on for about 5 minutes or so. but I don't read Japanese so that I am not exactly sure what it did.) I still could not find the Netflix, and now it won't read any of my game.

    After doing some research, specially the posts from mauifrog. I want to try to do some softmod. Here are some questions if any of you could help me.

    1. Without be able to read the games, how can I load Boot2 Bootmii on my 4.3J?

    2. If I can load Boot2 Bootmii, I can load Hackmii, right?

    3. If I won't be able to let my console read any games, can I do any hardmod to be able to change the software to 4.3E english version? Can I change it to the north america region?

    4. Which type of the hardware Mod chip should I get to change 4.3J to 4.3E?

    Any help would be appreciated it.

    Thank you so much.

  2. #2
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,067
    Thanks
    833
    Thanked 2,083 Times in 1,757 Posts
    http://www.wiihacks.com/other-faq-gu...o-jap-kor.html
    Have you looked at that guide?
    1. Follow mauifrogs guide, not sure on the language thing, but the hackmii installer is in english, just gotta get to the point where it is launched.
    2. You run hackmii to install boot2
    3. Not sure, check into the hardmod section of the forum.
    4. that is kind of the same as #3 isn't it?

  3. 1 User Says Thank You skellinator For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Skellinator,
    thanks for the reply. I took a look the thread you send me and it seems the one I will need. Being a newbee, I still don't know how to install and load HBC. Would you mind to point me to the right directions?
    Thanks again...

  5. #4
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,067
    Thanks
    833
    Thanked 2,083 Times in 1,757 Posts
    http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...tml#post378729
    start @ part 1 -
    Softmods with HOMEBREW CHANNEL installed


    the guide is very well written, just read it all before doing anything.

  6. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks again Skellinator,
    I read that thread last night. I am still a little confused about it. I don't have HBC installed. So if I start with Part 1, Softmods with Homebrew Channel (HBC) installed, I need to install HBC. Since my console doesn't read any of the games now, I cannot install exploits. Then when I go to part 2, it asks me to install the HBC. So what I really need is to install HBC first, right? So what do you think the best way to install HBC from scratch?
    thanks for your time!

  7. #6
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,067
    Thanks
    833
    Thanked 2,083 Times in 1,757 Posts
    ahhh... I just read that you had some custom software to run backup and assumed it had to have HBC on there. In that case you will have to start from scratch then.That means you will need one of the original discs from the region of the wii to do it. If the program used to run your backups was a forwarder then you may be able to launch the exploit through that. Instructions to do that are in the "other desperate options" spoiler.

  8. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Skellinator,
    Yeah, I have been really scratching my head, frustrated. Now my wii won't read any discs at all. It used to read both copied and US version of Discs. I am not sure if the possible update or the formatting cause the wii not reading any discs. Or, maybe the disc reader is broken, which I highly doubted since I didn't use my wii that much. To be honest, I don't really know what was done on the wii before. as far as I know, I don't have a boot2, nor forwarder channel, nor cioscorp/darkcorp installed. Unless I can install one of the items, I cannot even follow the desperate options.

    I saw you had some posts on the hardmod session as well. Do you think I should just go with the hardmod? Any suggestion will help at this point. I am really really stuck.

    Do you know if there is some help line I can call for suggestions?

    Thank you so much for your help so far...

  9. #8
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,067
    Thanks
    833
    Thanked 2,083 Times in 1,757 Posts
    Apparently you decided to wast some space in the guide thread asking a question that has already been answered. One thread per topic, I cannot closed the guide thread so I will close this one.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •