Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: usb hub question

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    usb hub question

    Had a quick question that I was hoping one of you knew the answer to. I'm running all my games off a portable hard drive, and by portable I mean that it is completely usb powered. The usb cable has two plugs, one for data and an extra one for power, if needed. I was running it using both usb connectors plugged into the wii and it was running perfect.

    I like to play black ops and decided that i would buy a mic so that i could talk to my friends at the same time. I unplugged the extra power plug from the wii, leaving the data plug in the wii (in the correct slot on the wii) and plugged the mic into the other slot on the wii. The game runs and the mic works fine, but i get a lot of lag in the game, even while doing combat training, which shouldn't happen since its being played without anything coming from the internet, so i could rule out internet lag as the problem there. So I unplug the mic and plug the mic and play just with the single usb plug in and it does the same thing. So now i figure that it must mean that the hard drive is not getting enough power to run properly.

    To fix that i decided to try a regular non-powered usb hub, that didn't work. So i bought a powered usb hub hoping that it was a power issue and the hub would supply the necessary power to the wii to run the game without lag.

    I tried plugging both cables from the hard drive into the hub and plugging that in the wii (in the correct slot) with the mic in the other slot. Tried loading that through all the usb loaders and nothing is found. I then tried plugging the data cable into the wii and plugging the extra power cable into the hub with the mic, then plugging the hub into the wii, which just gives me the same type of game lag as i was getting before.

    Tried searching here and there wasn't anything that helped, so i figured i'd ask all the experts here. Is there any thing i can do or am i just gonna have to either buy another hard drive that is externally powered or just run it from a flash drive like I've been doing?

    any help is greatly appreciated,
    BR

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Well my external hard drive has two usb/power cords, but i can run it with just one usb connected in the correct slot of course. What external hard drive do u have? perhaps posting information about it can benefit those here who create a list of problematic usb external drives. Have u tried a normal usb with the headset? My last thoughts here is that u should probably see if can get a external hard drive that didoes require dual usb/power cords and if it is compatible with the wii

  3. 1 User Says Thank You MOHH1 For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    thanks for the response.

    the hard drive is a imation appollo 25 - 320 gb portable. the drive works fine with only one plug in for most games, i only get that lag with black ops online. i normally had both plugs in, but wanted to use a mic while playing so tried it with only one.
    i've been using a flash drive with the mic and it works fine, just not with the hard drive. with my limited knowledge, i'm guessing that it is a power issue and the game lag is a result of the drive not getting enough power. i was trying to remedy that by using a powered usb hub, but no luck.

    thanks again for the response,
    BR

  5. #4
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Game Master
    cjizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southeast Ohio
    Posts
    6,298
    Thanks
    1,489
    Thanked 2,627 Times in 1,931 Posts
    Could be a cIOS issue. What version are you loading the game with?

  6. 1 User Says Thank You cjizzle For This Useful Post


  7. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cjizzle View Post
    Could be a cIOS issue. What version are you loading the game with?
    thanks for the reply
    i'm using cios249. i think that's the only one that works, could be wrong though

  8. #6
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Game Master
    cjizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southeast Ohio
    Posts
    6,298
    Thanks
    1,489
    Thanked 2,627 Times in 1,931 Posts
    Sort of.... 249 is a slot for cIOS but the question was which version are you using.

  9. 1 User Says Thank You cjizzle For This Useful Post


  10. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cjizzle View Post
    Sort of.... 249 is a slot for cIOS but the question was which version are you using.
    either v19 or v20. have both in my wad folder, not entirely sure which version is used.
    apologies for my noob-ness

  11. #8
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    VWA
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    playerkp420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,179
    Thanks
    224
    Thanked 492 Times in 429 Posts
    I have not had experience with two usb plug drives. But have you tried plugging the one for data into port0 and the hub into port1, then plug the one for power into the hub and the headset into the hub. If that doesn't work try and post a system check

  12. 1 User Says Thank You playerkp420 For This Useful Post


  13. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by playerkp420 View Post
    I have not had experience with two usb plug drives. But have you tried plugging the one for data into port0 and the hub into port1, then plug the one for power into the hub and the headset into the hub. If that doesn't work try and post a system check
    appreciate the response.
    I tried what you suggested initially by plugging the data in the usb0 slot and the hub, with the power and mic, into usb0. I just gives me that lag i was experiencing without the hub. my thought is that the wii is just not recognizing the hub or something, not really sure. but i did as you suggested and ran a system check and here are the results.

    Code:
    sysCheck v2.1.0b10 by Double_A and R2-D2199
    ...runs on IOS58 (rev 6176).
    
    Region: NTSC-U
    System Menu 4.3U (v513)
    Priilaoder installed
    Homebrew Channel 1.0.8 running on IOS58
    Hollywood v0x21
    Console ID: 64650714
    Boot2 v4
    Found 123 titles.
    Found 48 IOS on this console. 8 of them are stub.
    
    IOS3 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS9 (rev 1034): No Patches
    IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
    IOS11 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS12 (rev 526): No Patches
    IOS13 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS14 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS15 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS16 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
    IOS17 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS20 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS21 (rev 1039): No Patches
    IOS22 (rev 1294): No Patches
    IOS28 (rev 1807): No Patches
    IOS30 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS31 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS33 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS34 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS35 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS36 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS37 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS38 (rev 3867): No Patches
    IOS40 (rev 3072): Stub
    IOS41 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS43 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS45 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS46 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS48 (rev 4124): No Patches
    IOS50 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
    IOS52 (rev 5888): Stub
    IOS53 (rev 5406): No Patches
    IOS55 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS56 (rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS57 (rev 5919): No Patches
    IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0
    IOS60 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS61 (rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS70 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS80 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS202[57] (rev 65535, Info: v5.0): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS222[38] (rev 4, Info: v0.1): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS223[38] (rev 4, Info: v0.1): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS236 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS249[57] (rev 20, Info: rev 20): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS250 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
    BC v6
    MIOS v10
    
    Report generated on 2011/06/18.
    once again appreciate the help,
    BR

  14. #10
    Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    VWA
    Moderator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    playerkp420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,179
    Thanks
    224
    Thanked 492 Times in 429 Posts
    Maybe update your cios.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •