Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: No network/Internet (wifi or wired) after softmodding Wii

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    No network/Internet (wifi or wired) after softmodding Wii

    I have searched all over wiihacks and google, but every other person who had a networking issue did something stupid like misconfigure something. I have a functioning network at home and 12 years experience as an IT network engineer. I have done EVERYTHING I can think of to get my Wii connected back to the Internet after softmodding. It once connected after softmodding, b/c I downloaded some game covers at some point...but it stopped working recently! I do not remember making any changes to the Wii or home network.

    I have tried Wifi A, B, G, WEP, WPA, WPA2 (w/ TKIP and/or AES) and open auth. I tried two different wired USB network adapters (one made for nintendo wii). I keep getting "cannot reach nintendo.com" with various error codes (52222, 52220, 52230, 52130, etc.) the code dependent upon what I tried with the network configuration at that point. I've tried manually assigning the IP/DNS, adding the nintendo's wifi MAC address to the routers' "whitelist" and disabling any firewalls (when using DD-WRT router). I've used two different routers (wifi and wired attempts on both) and even cracked my neighbor's WEP key and tried connecting to THEIR router.

    NADA! I know it sounds like I'm making this up, but I don't know what's going on!!!! It's almost as if FIOS (most of my neighbors have FIOS, too) has blocked any Nintendo Wii data from traversing their networks. My DSi, 3DS, PS3, laptops, desktops, iPad and iPod all work fine. I thought, "Maybe there are too many wireless devices/networks around here", which is why I tried a wired setup, too. My next move is to bring the Wii to work and see if it will connect there. If that doesn't work, I was thinking about virginizing my Wii and remodding.

    Perhaps I (or my daughter) went to a Wii Channel that is forbidden from a softmodded Wii? Any ideas??!!!!! Sorry for the long post, but I'd rather give you more info than not enough.

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
    On the wii go to the internet button and clear any connections you tryed to make and reset your router and then go back to your wii and try to make a wireless connection i just had the same problem just a few hours ago. And that fixed my connection.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Have you tried checking if priloader is forcing wifi connection failure.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Artrip, I've cleared the preconfigured network connections countless times...about as many times as I rebooted the different routers I've tried.

    jsajjan32, I've never read about priloader causing an issue like this. I posted in the noob forum b/c I am def a noob with wii hack. How would I check priiloader? I can tell you, if it helps, that when I go to HBC, hit Menu, and try to run BootMii, it black screens. I can only run BootMii from SD card. Not sure if this issue is linked to the issue you are referring to.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I received a private message from a newer-ish user, offering assistance. This user requested that I download and run sysCheck 2.0.1 and send the results back. Is this dangerous if I download and run SysCheck from a reliable source?

  6. #6
    Senior Member Shift_Lock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The City of Rain
    Posts
    5,932
    Thanks
    1,320
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,030 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    How about you download it from my system check guide in my signature to be safe..

    Did I come off like a jerk?? Read more here


    [/spoiler]

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    To open priloader hold the reset button while booting. Then go to system hacks or something like that.

  8. 1 User Says Thank You jsajjan34 For This Useful Post


  9. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    jsajjan34 is the smartest person in the world. i am the most ignorant. THANK YOU! i don't know how that wifi failure setting was enabled in priiloader. perhaps you hacked my wifi, changed my wii settings while sitting in a car around the corner, and just waited for me to post so you could get credit. some people are so selfish, ya know...

  10. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks for the complement. I try to help out where I can. I'm still learning to.

  11. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by surfwax View Post
    jsajjan34 is the smartest person in the world. i am the most ignorant. THANK YOU! i don't know how that wifi failure setting was enabled in priiloader. perhaps you hacked my wifi, changed my wii settings while sitting in a car around the corner, and just waited for me to post so you could get credit. some people are so selfish, ya know...
    Hi, where in system hacks do you find wifi failure setting? I have similar problem as you, my wifi stalled every time I entered in the password and did connection check. I'm in priiloader system hacks now. Thank you for your help.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •