Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Wii Receiver Hook up, with Component cables.

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wii Receiver Hook up, with Component cables.

    I have an Onkyo S3300, a PS3 running to it via HDMI. I purchased these cables:

    COMPONENT 480P AV HD CABLE FOR NINTENDO WII HDTV TV NEW - eBay (item 190418394498 end time May-10-11 01:49:43 PDT)

    So I would run these cables to the receiver, and then use these:
    6 Ft Component Video HDTV Cable Fast FREE Shipping - eBay (item 380308606003 end time May-16-11 14:53:15 PDT)

    to go from the receiver to my TV. My TV is a 32" 720P LCD Vizio.
    Is there any way I can test the surround sound, and the 480P to make sure everything is working right?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Shift_Lock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The City of Rain
    Posts
    5,932
    Thanks
    1,320
    Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,030 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Wii out>>>>TV in/TV out>>>>receiver function

    Did I come off like a jerk?? Read more here


    [/spoiler]

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wii

    http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/...L._AA1500_.jpg

    Here is the back of my receiver. You can see the component inputs, and then the red and white inputs underneath the component jacks. The third set of component jacks is the output, that go from the receiver to the TV. I already purchased the 2 cables from ebay.
    So would it be best to go from the Wii, all cables go to the Receiver, and then to the TV?
    Since the Receiver does a onscreen overlay for all the settings.

  4. #4
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    Wall-Eyed Mucksucker
    emuhack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Windy City
    Posts
    7,473
    Thanks
    892
    Thanked 2,132 Times in 1,347 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    1. you will not get anything more then 480 from the component from wii (best sound will be STERO -- your reciever will simulate surround ONLY)

    2. Yes have everything go to the reciever and then an HDMI out to the TV for everything!

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    See, I am pretty sure my receiver can't convert analog to digital.
    I understand the Wii can only due 480P, but I am just trying to get the best picture possible.

    My PS3 does go through the receiver to my TV through HDMI.

  6. #6
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    Wall-Eyed Mucksucker
    emuhack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Windy City
    Posts
    7,473
    Thanks
    892
    Thanked 2,132 Times in 1,347 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    Ok!

    this is how i would do it

    Wii Component >> Receiver Component (In 1 BD/DVD)
    Wii Audio >> Receiver Audio Input (BD/DVD in)
    Receiver Component OUT >> TV Component IN
    Receiver Audio OUT >> TV Component Audio IN

    ---------------------

    PS3 >> Receiver HDMI 3 (game)
    Receiver HMDI Out >> TV HDMI In

    ----------------------
    Cables you will need!

    1x = Wii Component Cables (With Audio Cables)
    2x = HDMI Cable (1ps3) (1 to tv)
    1x = Pair of Audio Cables (for receiver to TV)


    DONE!!!!!!
    Last edited by emuhack; 05-05-2011 at 11:44 AM.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Your set up look similar to mine except that my amplifier is Harmon Kardon forget the model, but it does not have video up-scaling (i.e. no analouge to 1080p). So, this is what I ended up doing:
    1) Run component cables from Amplifier to TV
    2) Run wii to amplifier e-bay cable
    3) Set wii as the DVD with 6CH in the Amplifier.

    So to turn on my system
    1) Turn on the surge protector plug
    2) Turn on the Amp on with H-K remote
    3) Turn on the TV on with the TV remote, change the input to component (with PS3, I don't need this step)
    4) Turn the wii on with wiimote
    (Yes, I am too cheap to spend >$60 on harmony remote)

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks!

    Is there any way to test to make sure the surround sound is working?
    My PS3 had Wipeout HD, which had a great audio test for the high quality codecs.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •