Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Bought a Wii as a second user and am having problems/issues with Backup discs

  1. #1
    New Member odintheterrible's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Bought a Wii as a second user and am having problems/issues with Backup discs

    Greetings,

    Recently bought my Wii as a second user unit and it appears to be in very good condition and I was assured by the seller that it was only a few months old. It has quite a few extras with it and a number of games.

    When I fired it up for the first time it shows that it is running version 4.3E and doesn't outwardly appear to be modded in any way that I can see.

    Now, having spent several days searching through the previous posts on here, I can't find anything that relates to my 'issue', so I have to ask ... and I apologies to those 'in the know' in advance for my ignorance in these matters ... but I'm on the learning curve.

    OK ... with the games that came with the console are a number of backup discs too which I assume were made to save the originals from wear and tear. Both the original and the backed up version of the games run OK on my console. Tried a couple of the backups in a couple of friends Wiis and their consoles report that they cannot read the discs (although they do read the original discs).

    Additionally, I've tried to backup a couple of the other games using RAWDUMP 2.0 and despite using the obligatory LG GDR8163B drive in my PC to read the original discs and create the ISO (file size checks OK) and then burning the ISO to a DVD-R at a slow speed (X4 and verifies OK after burn check) my console reports that it cannot read the disc.

    I'm just wondering if anyone can throw any light onto why the system won't/can' play the backups which I've burnt, whilst it is playing the backups that came with the bundle when I bought it (but don't play on other consoles) ????

    It's all very confusing and I'm wondering if it might be better to install a mod chip rather than try to pursue the soft mod option (and Homebrew channel etc) as I have no idea as to what's been or not been done to this console previously ???

    Many thanks.

    O T T
    "Qui Custodiet Ipsos Custodes ?"

    Remember ... 'THE Force' is like Duct Tape ... it has both a light and a dark side ... and it binds the universe together !
    There are only 2 things you need in life ... Duct tape and WD40. If it moves and it shouldn't, then use Duct Tape; if it doesn't move and it should, use WD40 !

  2. #2
    Junior Member mrkazador's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    843
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 158 Times in 151 Posts
    If you follow a guide like the one linked, it will overwrite what you had before.
    http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...mod-guide.html

  3. 1 User Says Thank You mrkazador For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,066
    Thanks
    827
    Thanked 2,083 Times in 1,757 Posts
    If it is playing ANY backup disc it has already been modded somehow. If you just launch your burned games through the disc channel, you either have a modchip or cios/darkcorp installed. There is a guide for burning/ripping games, which it sounds like you have found. The wii is very picky about the quality of media it will read, look back through the guide. Scroll through all of the channel pages and see if you have a Homebrew Channel stashed in there somewhere. If you do, run a syscheck and see what you come up with. If you don't see HBC, you probably have a modchip installed on your wii. BTW, that can not be a fairly new wii because the new ones will not read burned media. If it is hardmodded, maybe you are trying to play out of region games, which is disabled by the 4.3 update.

  5. 1 User Says Thank You skellinator For This Useful Post


  6. #4
    New Member odintheterrible's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Many thanks for the input :-)

    I suspected that it must have been modded already in some way ... but wasn't sure how, as it defo doesn't have the HBC installed ... and I've looked very carefully at the case screw locations and there doesn't appear to be any signs of the case ever having been opened. I'm trying to do as much research on this as I can but I can't figure out what's going on for the life of me.
    Is there any way of actually identifying if it has a mod chip installed and if so, which chip ... or do I need to open the case up for this ???

    THanks again for the info.
    "Qui Custodiet Ipsos Custodes ?"

    Remember ... 'THE Force' is like Duct Tape ... it has both a light and a dark side ... and it binds the universe together !
    There are only 2 things you need in life ... Duct tape and WD40. If it moves and it shouldn't, then use Duct Tape; if it doesn't move and it should, use WD40 !

  7. #5
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,066
    Thanks
    827
    Thanked 2,083 Times in 1,757 Posts
    You could just run the beginnig of the mod any wii guide to get HBC installed. Then run a syscheck, the syscheck will show us whats you have in there. If the syscheck comes up clean, that will mean that you are hardmoded.

  8. 1 User Says Thank You skellinator For This Useful Post


  9. #6
    New Member odintheterrible's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sounds like a plan ... but how far do I go with the HBC install before I do a syscheck, and indeed, how do I do the syscheck ??? As you see, I'm still at the bottom of the learning curve LOL

    THanks
    "Qui Custodiet Ipsos Custodes ?"

    Remember ... 'THE Force' is like Duct Tape ... it has both a light and a dark side ... and it binds the universe together !
    There are only 2 things you need in life ... Duct tape and WD40. If it moves and it shouldn't, then use Duct Tape; if it doesn't move and it should, use WD40 !

  10. #7
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,066
    Thanks
    827
    Thanked 2,083 Times in 1,757 Posts
    Do all of chapter one in the softmod any wii guide (link is in my signature), even the nand bachup. You never know when you might need it! After that do this and post it here.

    You will need one of the games to run the hack though. From the sounds of it you can probably use a copied game, but it will most likely need to be for your region.

  11. 1 User Says Thank You skellinator For This Useful Post


  12. #8
    New Member odintheterrible's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Many thanks :-)

    I'll give it a shot over the weekend.
    "Qui Custodiet Ipsos Custodes ?"

    Remember ... 'THE Force' is like Duct Tape ... it has both a light and a dark side ... and it binds the universe together !
    There are only 2 things you need in life ... Duct tape and WD40. If it moves and it shouldn't, then use Duct Tape; if it doesn't move and it should, use WD40 !

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •