Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: dvd drive still a problem???

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    new port richey,fl.
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Us dvd drive still a problem???

    i have replaced my dvd drive in my wii and still get a no read disk error....what else can it be..??this is an unmodded wii and it will go to all the other stuff and unfortunately it is upgrated to 4.3u....any suggestion on what else it can be for the drive to not work....???

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Are you trying to play original Wii discs or are you trying to play copies?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    new port richey,fl.
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    i am trying original games but it won't read any...i even went and bought a new one just to make sure

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,594
    Thanks
    286
    Thanked 448 Times in 358 Posts
    Blog Entries
    6
    Are you sure the ribbon cables are OK and connected properly? Just make sure it isn't something obvious before taking further steps.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    new port richey,fl.
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    i have replaced all ribbons and cables,,,i even replaced the laser ...got mad and bought another drive and still the same problem...i did notice that the dirve motor isn't spinning and then i tapped the thing with a screw driver lightly and it spun ....but that was the only time it spun...is it possible something loose on the motherboard???

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Did you remove the shirt-circuit on the ribbon cable used for the lens with a soldering iron?

    http://i52.tinypic.com/2dhvcy8.jpg

    When you buy it, the laser diode is short-circuit to prevent static from damaging it. You need to remove this short-circuit before putting it back on.

    Have you done this?

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    new port richey,fl.
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    asorry i havent got back sooner was geting dental work done and felt like crap the past couple days....but when i bought just the laser no i didn't do that....but i bought a whole nother drive and still get the same error....i can check if that has been done but i wat tosay this was a used drive ....and was told it worked but the motherboard was dead....and i really want to thank everyone that is trying to help me with this situation

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •