Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Bootmii as ios instead of boot: what will it change?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Qc, Canada
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Bootmii as ios instead of boot: what will it change?

    Ok am still stuck as the installation of 4.3. I was told to buy a sandisk card instead of Lexar (I use a Lexar 2 gig SD) because I am unable to hack my wii. I installed HBC and bootmii with this card but it installed as ios instead of boot2. I read it could do that in the instructions and it seems to not be a problem but now I wonder. I am searching since then because for now, surprisely I can't find sandisk cards in the couple of local stores I went. And each time I see bootmii as boot2 and am wondering if this could be the problem.

    First I need to indicate that I realised last night that I maybe forgot a step when I did the chapter one (can't remember). I think I maybe forgot the Prepare SD part, after installing HBC and bootmii. So I basically have 2 questions.

    -What is the difference with the installation of bootmii as ios instead of boot2?

    -Is it a problem if I forgot the prepare SD card step? And if so can I do it now that I don't have the game anymore? (rent it but don't have it anymore)

    Because now when I open HBC, I don't see any options and when I launch bootmii the screen become black and the DVD slot blink. I then need to restart my wii. I copied all the files from chapter 2 but here is where I get stuck... MMM does not start. But maybe it is normal since bootmii is installed as ios. How I proceed in this case?

    Start HBC, press [HOME], Launch Bootmii
    Multi-Mod Manager Starts (via cboot2)
    Select "WAD Manager" - Press A

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,193
    Thanks
    2,206
    Thanked 2,578 Times in 2,012 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Either your console can have bootmii installed as boot2 and will give the option, or it can't and it won't. No way to get it if it won't allow it. Most consoles don't support boot2, only the very old ones do.
    Sent from my van, down by the river.




    Never quantify your life by comparison. It is always going to be apples to oranges. If you feel the need to always look down on others, you currently do not own enough mirrors------ Tommie Griffin.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Qc, Canada
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ok but will this change anything?

  4. #4
    Junior Member mrkazador's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    843
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 158 Times in 151 Posts
    If you have homebrew channel installed you can "prepare sd" by running the hackmii installer v0.8. Once run, select bootmii... then prepare sd. When you "prepare sd" the app writes a bootmii folder to your sd card which is necessary to launch bootmii. If the folder is missing you get a black screen.
    Installing bootmii as IOS does not affect the way the wii plays games. Installing bootmii on boot2 will offer the best brick protection. IOS is pretty much useless but you still want to create a nand backup.
    Last edited by mrkazador; 01-10-2011 at 08:32 AM.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Qc, Canada
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Man I am so getting tired of this. I am on this since Christmas . So I format the SD card again and then added the Hackmii install 0.8 on it. The same files I used to installed HBC at the first place. But now with the same files I can't seem to make anything work. I select HBC, then launch bootmii with those files in the card...
    boot.elf
    bootmini.elf
    private
    and nothing happen. I get a black screen with a blinking slot

    Please can someone help me?

  6. #6
    Senior Member JoostinOnline's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Behind you
    Posts
    4,457
    Thanks
    604
    Thanked 1,261 Times in 1,036 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SQ2010 View Post
    Man I am so getting tired of this. I am on this since Christmas . So I format the SD card again and then added the Hackmii install 0.8 on it. The same files I used to installed HBC at the first place. But now with the same files I can't seem to make anything work. I select HBC, then launch bootmii with those files in the card...
    boot.elf
    bootmini.elf
    private
    and nothing happen. I get a black screen with a blinking slot

    Please can someone help me?
    You are missing the SD:\bootmii\ folder. Download bootmii.zip and rename the appropriate file to bootmii.ini. There are instructions in the folder.
    "Macs are the Perfect Computers," said the Perfect Idiot.

  7. 1 User Says Thank You JoostinOnline For This Useful Post


  8. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Qc, Canada
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    How can I know the one I need to choose? I am from Canada.

  9. #8
    Senior Member JoostinOnline's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Behind you
    Posts
    4,457
    Thanks
    604
    Thanked 1,261 Times in 1,036 Posts

    Us

    Quote Originally Posted by SQ2010 View Post
    How can I know the one I need to choose? I am from Canada.
    I'm sorry to hear that.
    If you have component cables, choose the Progressive one. Otherwise, use the NTSC.

    PS: J/k on the Canada remark.
    "Macs are the Perfect Computers," said the Perfect Idiot.

  10. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Qc, Canada
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    lol wait I also use a mac so I guess poor me right?

    So it was NTSC. Now I get it to launch. I get the 4 symbols. Now what? I tried to go on th SD card but don't know what to do next to prepare the SD card. Or maybe I don't need it? Could I just add the chapter 2 files of the 4.3 softmod on the card and leave the files already on it?

  11. #10
    cjizzle
    Guest
    Just as a suggestion: It will not hurt to START OVER FROM THE BEGINNING. Follow the guide slowly, and word for word. Make certain you are referencing the guide as you are doing the mod. If you have to, print it out and mark off what you have done starting with Step #1 to ensure you don't forget anything.

    Or you could keep up the back and forth posting and waiting for answers. Might be faster to just start over

  12. 1 User Says Thank You cjizzle For This Useful Post


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •