Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Can't get Moonwalker MAME to work

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can't get Moonwalker MAME to work

    I just got SDL Mame through the Homebrew Browser and downloaded the Moonwalker ROM which to my knowledge should work. I put the ZIP file into the "rom" folder but SDL Mame says I have no games installed. Same if I unzip the files too. How can I get this to work? Is there a good source for reliable Mame ROM downloads?

  2. #2
    Junior Member mrkazador's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    843
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 158 Times in 151 Posts
    Never used the wii version of Mame but it requires roms to be complete. If a rom is missing then it will not run.
    Search for Michael Jackson's Moonwalker (World, FD1094/8751 317-0159)
    http://maws.mameworld.info/maws/
    Under "data" will tell you what roms are needed for the game to run properly in MAME.

  3. #3
    Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    Darkcide666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    3,719
    Thanks
    560
    Thanked 923 Times in 666 Posts
    That's the one. Make sure you are using the parent that mrkazador mentioned. Leave it zipped and called mwalk.zip. After all my MAME testing I can assure you that it works. Links to ROM sites and so forth would be against the sites rules.
    "Hackers solve problems and build things, and they believe in freedom and voluntary mutual help." - Eric S. Raymond

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hey thanks for that checklist site. Yeah I have all those files. I downloaded World, US, bootleg and Japan, and while all of them now show up in SDL Mame, none of them will work. They all say that ROMs are missing. But according to that checklist website, at least for the World version, I have all those files. So I don't know what's going on....

  5. #5
    Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    Darkcide666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    3,719
    Thanks
    560
    Thanked 923 Times in 666 Posts
    Maybe a problem with the rev level of the ROM. MAME on the Wii is based off of MAME 0.134u4 but I've had luck running higher rev ROMs.
    "Hackers solve problems and build things, and they believe in freedom and voluntary mutual help." - Eric S. Raymond

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm sure I've read though that people have had success running this ROM on the Wii. I could be wrong but I've done a lot of Googling on this and I'm sure I've read that somewhere. What do you mean by higher rev of the ROM? All the ROMs I've downloaded so far from all the different sites have been exactly the same versions, right down to the date and time the files were created. Do you mean a more up-to-date version of SDL Mame?

  7. #7
    Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    Darkcide666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    3,719
    Thanks
    560
    Thanked 923 Times in 666 Posts
    No need for Google. I told you which version runs and how to get it running. I've tested roughly 9000 MAME ROMs on the Wii just to find out what it recognizes and I'm deep play testing all the ones I found that are recognized now to make sure they run. I mean exactly what I said. I don't think you understand how MAME works. It's not like an NES emulator where you dump a ROM once and provided it's a good dump it will run on any rev of the emulator. MAME ROMs have a rev level just like the emulator itself. Some revs of ROMs are incompatible with the rev level of MAME you are running, especially older ones. Theoretically the ROMs you are running should be the same level as the rev of the emulator you are running. There are PC tools for updating rev levels of MAME ROMs. There is no way to guarantee that you are getting the same ROMs randomly downloading them from multiple sites. I can guarantee you that mwalk.zip will work with SDL MAME Wii if it is from the 0.134, 0.139, or 0.140 MAME ROM sets. I can post pics or videos of it in action if you need further proof.

    Edit: Will a mod move this to my favorite part of the site? Where it should be to start with...Emulation.
    Last edited by Darkcide666; 01-10-2011 at 07:27 AM.
    "Hackers solve problems and build things, and they believe in freedom and voluntary mutual help." - Eric S. Raymond

  8. #8
    Junior Member mrkazador's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    843
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 158 Times in 151 Posts
    The only way to tell if that rom is complete is to use a program like RomCenter or ClrMAmePro. Romcenter is a little easier to use, you'll need to download MAME for windows so you can extract the dat file. Like darkcide said, MAME is a different world compared to console emulators/roms.

    I went to a popular rom site (dont ask) and downloaded mwalk.zip. Here is what romcenter reports.

    Some of the roms have a bad name so they need to be renamed.
    Last edited by mrkazador; 01-10-2011 at 07:55 AM.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Darkcide, you are right, I don't know how MAME works. Sorry if it sounds like I'm suggesting that I know more about them than you do, because obviously I don't. When I said I was Googling, I meant before I posted on here I had been trying to find out by searching on Google whether people had been having the same problems as me.

    Anyway, I do follow what you're saying about the potential mismatch between MAME and ROM. The file names of the ROM I downloaded are all correct, so then the question is, what ROM do I have? And this is where I am lost - because I don't know how I could find out what ROM I have. Is that something that the ROMCenter program can do for me?

    They don't make this easy do they?

  10. #10
    Junior Member mrkazador's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    843
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 158 Times in 151 Posts
    Romcenter can tell you if the roms are corrupt.

    Download romcenter and install. File- New- Load game list from dat file: extract and select this mame dat MAME v0.140
    Once its done you should have two folders on the left, datafile and roms. Right click roms and add rom path. Choose your rom folder. After that you will get info if your roms are good or bad. Sometimes they can be fixed...
    Last edited by mrkazador; 01-10-2011 at 01:30 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •