Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Blurry/pixelated games when loading from USB HDD after softmodding

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Blurry/pixelated games when loading from USB HDD

    Hi guys,
    re-upping the post since some info has changed, hopefully now I'll get some help.
    I would like to apologize if I'm posting this in the wrong area, I'm a definitely a noob though.
    First I'll detail the problem, then my specs

    1). Problem
    Every game tested loads properly with almost no problems, however character models, buildings and everything look extremely pixelated. Also, some games look completely washed out.
    At first I thought it's probably just me, maybe I got used to HD, however I have been comparing with in-game pics/videos online and even the worse videos look better than what my games look. Games just look as if they're from a PS2/NGC era.
    Using search came up with only 1 topic on the subject
    "Question about Configurable USB loader, and the quality of the games played on a HDtv"

    And there it just says it should run fine and suggest it's a bad iso.
    I have tried with several different iso's so it's definitely not the problem

    2) Specs and Background
    Bought the Wii last month, came with 3.4E.
    Connected with component cables to an HD ready Philips 32' (model 3512),
    running on 480p .
    Used mauifrog's "softmod ANY Wii" guide. Now on 4.1E.
    Installed cfg loader and updated to ver 62, then ver 63alpha (249) and Wiiflow 2.2
    Updated to ciosxRev20.
    Games themselves are all d/l , copied with WiiBackup Manager to an Iomega ego 320 GB HDD (FAT32).
    UPDATE: I have received retail copies of Mario Galaxy 1 and Metroid Prime3- unfortunately, the problem persists even on the retail games (though they look just very slightly better).
    Problem tested on Super Mario Galaxy (1+2), Metroid Prime 3, Metroid Other M, DKC:Returns and Okami (the latter looks especially horrible).


    I would appreciate any help on the subject-
    - Am I missing some important Ios/cIos?
    - Should Ios affect the graphics/pixelation?
    - Is it possible this is related to games being "Scrubbed"?

    I know Wii isn't an HD console but I would still like to achieve the best quality.
    thanks in advance, I'm really at my wit's end here
    I will appreciate any comment, help or suggestion,
    Ariel
    Last edited by arigldstn; 01-13-2011 at 01:27 PM. Reason: new info

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,186
    Thanks
    2,203
    Thanked 2,570 Times in 2,009 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thread title says after softmod, how were you playing from hdd before softmodding?
    Sent from my van, down by the river.




    Never quantify your life by comparison. It is always going to be apples to oranges. If you feel the need to always look down on others, you currently do not own enough mirrors------ Tommie Griffin.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,594
    Thanks
    286
    Thanked 448 Times in 358 Posts
    Blog Entries
    6
    Let's say you're not getting help until you test a retail version. Fair enough?

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The problem is it might be a while since I don't live in an area with easy access to these games, it'll probably be a month or so until they arrive and I just wanted to make sure there's nothing wrong with either my Wii or my modding...

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,594
    Thanks
    286
    Thanked 448 Times in 358 Posts
    Blog Entries
    6
    The modding isn't the problem. The signal isn't the problem either. It could possibly be your Component Cable.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    well, I though so as well, however the same thing happens with the official cables I got with the Wii, and how much change is there that both my cables are faulty? (both component and composite).
    I mean, if there is no choice I''ll try and change them/buy another...
    thanks though!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •