Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: What versions are new wiis?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    What versions are new wiis?

    I wanted to ask this in a different thread I had going, but I forgot and it got closed.

    So if I buy a brand new wii, what system version would it come at? I've been reading up on Wiis and soft-modding a fair bit, but couldn't find any info on it. Would all new ones come at 4.3?

  2. #2
    Senior Member JoostinOnline's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Behind you
    Posts
    4,457
    Thanks
    604
    Thanked 1,261 Times in 1,036 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by xhaydenx View Post
    I wanted to ask this in a different thread I had going, but I forgot and it got closed.

    So if I buy a brand new wii, what system version would it come at? I've been reading up on Wiis and soft-modding a fair bit, but couldn't find any info on it. Would all new ones come at 4.3?
    Almost for sure, especially if it is black or red. I know that some black Wii's came with 4.2, but that was when they first came out (excluding Japan of course). I doubt you could find a Wii now that doesn't have 4.3 on it.
    "Macs are the Perfect Computers," said the Perfect Idiot.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    And the main or only disadvantage to having one that is 4.3 is that I'd have to use one of the game hacks to soft-mod it, right?

  4. #4
    Senior Member JoostinOnline's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Behind you
    Posts
    4,457
    Thanks
    604
    Thanked 1,261 Times in 1,036 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by xhaydenx View Post
    And the main or only disadvantage to having one that is 4.3 is that I'd have to use one of the game hacks to soft-mod it, right?
    Once it has been softmodded it will be pretty much the same.
    "Macs are the Perfect Computers," said the Perfect Idiot.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yeah, but to soft-mod a 4.3 I definately have to have one of those 3 games for the mod, right?

  6. #6
    Senior Member JoostinOnline's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Behind you
    Posts
    4,457
    Thanks
    604
    Thanked 1,261 Times in 1,036 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by xhaydenx View Post
    Yeah, but to soft-mod a 4.3 I definately have to have one of those 3 games for the mod, right?
    Yes.______
    "Macs are the Perfect Computers," said the Perfect Idiot.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Okay, thanks for the help. One last question, when I do get this Wii in a couple of hours, how will I know whether or not it is one of the ones that can play backups off a disc or if its one of the ones that I have to use a HD for?

    I'm keen on the HD idea eventually, but I do have a copy of WInd Waker that I'd like to play, but its an iso.

  8. #8
    Senior Member JoostinOnline's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Behind you
    Posts
    4,457
    Thanks
    604
    Thanked 1,261 Times in 1,036 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by xhaydenx View Post
    Okay, thanks for the help. One last question, when I do get this Wii in a couple of hours, how will I know whether or not it is one of the ones that can play backups off a disc or if its one of the ones that I have to use a HD for?

    I'm keen on the HD idea eventually, but I do have a copy of WInd Waker that I'd like to play, but its an iso.
    It won't be able to. Wii's made after Fall 2009 can't play backup discs or DVD movies.
    "Macs are the Perfect Computers," said the Perfect Idiot.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ah damn. Ah well. Will I be able to play Gamecube isos off the HD then?

  10. #10
    Senior Member JoostinOnline's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Behind you
    Posts
    4,457
    Thanks
    604
    Thanked 1,261 Times in 1,036 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by xhaydenx View Post
    Ah damn. Ah well. Will I be able to play Gamecube isos off the HD then?
    Only with DIOS MIOS. Google it.
    "Macs are the Perfect Computers," said the Perfect Idiot.

  11. 1 User Says Thank You JoostinOnline For This Useful Post


Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •