Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Installed Sys Menu B4 Patched 4.1 - Black Screen - Bootmii Won't Load - HELP! :(

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Installed Sys Menu B4 Patched IOS60 - Black Screen - Bootmii Won't Load - HELP! :(

    Offered to softmod my boss's wii running 4.1u. I did mine last year no issues. Followed this guide:

    http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...d-any-wii.html

    Installed bootmii as IOS and backed up his NAND, everything was good until I accidentally installed the system menu 4.1 wad when I meant to run the IOS60 patched wad. I realized it while I still had the wad manager open so I panicked and uninstalled the 4.1 wad and then installed IOS60 patched wad. Went out to the homebrew screen and the controller wasn't responding. Re-booted and now the drive lights up, but I only get a black screen. I have the bootmii folder with the three files on the card, but bootmii won't load. I dont know what to do. Thinking about running to a game stop for a gamecube controller to try the savemii thing, but otherwise im stumped.

    I feel like an a hole. Its thanksgiving weekend and his kids are going to be pretty bummed.

    I dont want to feel like an a hole guys, help me!!!
    Last edited by jdotfite; 11-24-2010 at 11:30 AM.

  2. #2
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,066
    Thanks
    833
    Thanked 2,083 Times in 1,757 Posts
    OOOOOPPPPSIE! Nand backup with bootmii as ios is not really going to help you much. I'm guessing that you had not made it to the priiloader segment yet either? This should probably be posted in the brick section.

    Warning - If you don't install the patched IOS60 first you will brick!
    Should pay close attention to those warnings! SInce you were already on 4.1 it may not have been an issue in the first place.

    A post in the guide may get you some help too.
    Last edited by skellinator; 11-24-2010 at 11:36 AM.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,594
    Thanks
    286
    Thanked 448 Times in 358 Posts
    Blog Entries
    6
    I recommend everyone to install maxed out version numbers (v65535) of the following IOSes, and leave them alone forever, for your Wii's safety:


    • IOS30


    • IOS50


    • IOS60


    • IOS70


    • IOS80

  4. #4
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,066
    Thanks
    833
    Thanked 2,083 Times in 1,757 Posts
    google infectus, may be your only hope.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    exactly, I was like one step away from installing the pre-loader. I know, I know. I was taking my time and I just read the wrong line and... I dont even know. I am usually so careful, I am so mad at myself!

    I apologize for posting this in the wrong section. Sigh... Would the gamecube controller even help me at this point? I dont know what to do.
    Last edited by jdotfite; 11-24-2010 at 11:49 AM.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    193
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Why is the patched IOS needed for anyway ? I'm thinking it should protect it from being stubbed by an update , also necessary for priiloader . But taking those out, if you don't change your system menu do you really need it to install a CIOS ?

    Jdotfite, some stupid way to brick . You shouldn't have restarted it , that killed your system menu .
    The Savemiifrii for all i know only works if you have IOS 16 installed , a modchip , a Gamecube controller and the Nintendo Backup Disc .

  7. #7
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,066
    Thanks
    833
    Thanked 2,083 Times in 1,757 Posts
    If you can't get to any homebrew apps or system menu, without bootmii/boot2 you are pretty screwed. However, I am FAR from an expert.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    man, this isn't looking good. I know guys, I messed up. I feel like an idiot.

    What is keeping bootmii from loading?
    Last edited by jdotfite; 11-24-2010 at 11:53 AM.

  9. #9
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,066
    Thanks
    833
    Thanked 2,083 Times in 1,757 Posts
    It's not a total loss yet. You do have a nand copy. There are options, just not ones that will have you fixed by tomorrow.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Retired Staff
    davepm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Lincoln, Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,561
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 2,059 Times in 831 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Take a look at this: http://www.wiihacks.com/general-home...e-savemii.html

    Its possible it might help, and you have nothing to lose trying it.


    EDIT: Did you install bootmii as boot2 or IOS?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •