Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Wii Sytem Updates Alternatives???

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wii Sytem Updates Alternatives???

    Hey everybody, I bought COD Black Ops (the new one) right other day, and when I put the disc on my wii, It says something like "YOU GOT TO UPDATE"...

    I read lots and lots of stuff on the net to help me with this... I got Sytem Menu v4.2U... I read about preloader, priiloader, menupatcher, starfall, startpatch, neogamma...
    The point is: I'm a complete noob at this point... And I was wondering if there's anyway to play the game without losing my homebrew or losing it and then installing it again...I can't stand trying to install patches and new IOS on my wii...but I don't wanna brick my wii too (trying to update)...
    If I could update and then install homebrew again without bricking my wii...would be the best....
    If I could put the game in another wii and then update through the disc channel, and get back to my wii, maybe it will skip the update?!?!?!?!
    OBS: NO PATCHES OR IOS...I WON'T TAKE IT.
    IDEAS???ANYONE???
    Please help me!!!

  2. #2
    Retired WiiHacks Staff peire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    England,Liverpool (land of the scousers)
    Posts
    6,673
    Thanks
    979
    Thanked 1,376 Times in 1,136 Posts
    Blog Entries
    10
    press power hold reset untill priiloader loads then go on system menu hacks and enable block disc updates and block online updates then save at bottem then go to sytem menue and your done you can play the game without updateing your wii
    thanks to bmarlo for this signature


  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Retired Staff
    davepm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Lincoln, Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,561
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 2,059 Times in 831 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Although installing priiloader will block updates, you will still need to install any missing or outdated IOS (unless you load from USB).

    If you do not have priiloader then you should go through the softmod guide for your system menu and install it (this will also update any other old/missing stuff you might have).

    The ONLY way you are going to be able to play a game without installing ANY IOS etc is to USB load.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yeah but...
    If I boot the game first on my friends wii and make the update trough the disc channel and put back on my wii???
    Will it keep telling me to update???

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Retired Staff
    davepm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Lincoln, Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,561
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 2,059 Times in 831 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    how do you expect that to help you? how would updating your friends Wii have ANY effect on your wii?

    I've told you the options.....

  6. #6
    Member WhiteShad0wX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    I'm right here
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    274
    Thanked 319 Times in 290 Posts
    yes because it updated HIS wii, not YOUR wii
    See the Thanks button over there?
    <================================= Click it

  7. #7
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,064
    Thanks
    827
    Thanked 2,083 Times in 1,757 Posts
    The update does not get erased from the disc, it will still try to update yours.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    All right...I got it...but if i update my wii to 4.3 will it brick it???
    coz i got indiana jones original and i could install homebrew again!!!
    if there's a chance to brick my wii doing the update, how could I skip the risks???

  9. #9
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    skellinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SE United States
    Posts
    6,064
    Thanks
    827
    Thanked 2,083 Times in 1,757 Posts
    Install priiloader if you don't have it. Set it to block online and disc updates. Follow the black ops guide to get your game running.

    That would be much easier than remodding! Is it worth possibly bricking your wii? If you think it is, then by all means go ahead and roll the dice.

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ooohhh yeah!!!!
    Thanks guys for your attention!!!
    Priiloader installed succefully!!!
    Many many thanks to peire that helped me a lot on the chat!!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •