Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: New Goldeneye Game - the anti-hack game??

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    New Goldeneye Game - the anti-hack game??

    I was so excited by the new GoldenEye game that I went out and bought it. I put it in and I am told it cannot work without an system update that can explicitly remove modifications. I was annoyed, but thought burning an image to my HD and running it from there would fix it, but no luck. An error opening the disc . . .

    Any ideas or things I am missing? Can I do the update then apply a new hack?

    Any help is appreciated!!

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    New Member summersyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    West Coast, CA
    Posts
    511
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 148 Times in 125 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    You should never need to update to run a game. If your game is not scrubbing the update partition off, then use priiloader to block disk and online updates (link in my signature).
    Give credit where credit is due. If it helps you, click "thanks" on ANY guide I link.

  3. #3
    Senior Member JoostinOnline's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Behind you
    Posts
    4,457
    Thanks
    604
    Thanked 1,261 Times in 1,036 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by summersyn View Post
    You should never need to update to run a game. If your game is not scrubbing the update partition off, then use priiloader to block disk and online updates (link in my signature).
    Well, you may need to update an IOS if you are running from the disc, but never the System Menu. That is probably what you meant, I was just clarifying.

    If you want to add a game to your HDD, just rip it straight from the USB Loader (Configurable is the best, IMO) and it will automatically be scrubbed.
    "Macs are the Perfect Computers," said the Perfect Idiot.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,552
    Thanks
    364
    Thanked 2,241 Times in 1,111 Posts
    Blog Entries
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by JoostinOnline View Post
    (Configurable is the best, IMO) and it will automatically be scrubbed.
    Are you sure about that? Have you ripped a game with CFG, and then transferred the ISO to a computer, and then see the update partition is still there with WiiScrubber? Perhaps CFG installs the image unscrubbed, it just doesn't read the update partition, kind of like NeoGamma will skip reading the update partition.

  5. #5
    New Member summersyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    West Coast, CA
    Posts
    511
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 148 Times in 125 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Stomp_442 View Post
    Are you sure about that? Have you ripped a game with CFG, and then transferred the ISO to a computer, and then see the update partition is still there with WiiScrubber? Perhaps CFG installs the image unscrubbed, it just doesn't read the update partition, kind of like NeoGamma will skip reading the update partition.
    When you run the configuration tool on your PC, you have the option of what to rip. You can rip the entire game if you wanted to, but you can also choose game only.
    Give credit where credit is due. If it helps you, click "thanks" on ANY guide I link.

  6. #6
    Senior Member JoostinOnline's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Behind you
    Posts
    4,457
    Thanks
    604
    Thanked 1,261 Times in 1,036 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stomp_442 View Post
    Are you sure about that? Have you ripped a game with CFG, and then transferred the ISO to a computer, and then see the update partition is still there with WiiScrubber? Perhaps CFG installs the image unscrubbed, it just doesn't read the update partition, kind of like NeoGamma will skip reading the update partition.
    No, I didn't rip it as an ISO.
    "Macs are the Perfect Computers," said the Perfect Idiot.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,552
    Thanks
    364
    Thanked 2,241 Times in 1,111 Posts
    Blog Entries
    8
    I never used the configuator, just the download from the CFG page. CFG does leave the update in the ISO by default.

  8. #8
    Senior Member JoostinOnline's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Behind you
    Posts
    4,457
    Thanks
    604
    Thanked 1,261 Times in 1,036 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stomp_442 View Post
    I never used the configuator, just the download from the CFG page. CFG does leave the update in the ISO by default.
    Hmm, I thought it was default. Maybe it's just that way because I use WBFS instead of FAT32.
    "Macs are the Perfect Computers," said the Perfect Idiot.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Cile's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,071
    Thanks
    666
    Thanked 2,303 Times in 1,226 Posts
    Blog Entries
    9
    it is you have a choice of how you want to rip the disc though cfg....game partition only or 1:1 but it is set to game partition only..

  10. #10
    Senior Member Krank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8,895
    Thanks
    953
    Thanked 4,321 Times in 2,128 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by summersyn View Post
    When you run the configuration tool on your PC, you have the option of what to rip. You can rip the entire game if you wanted to, but you can also choose game only.
    This is correct, you can set it however you want.

    Also "scrubbing" is not the same as removing the update partition (the update partition is usually small anyway so it doesn't matter if it gets removed).

    When installing a game to Cfg with a WBFS drive it "scrubs" it, when installing a game to a FAT32 drive it installs as a .wbfs file (also "scrubbed"). This is the default.

    .wbfs format is the same format as when installing to a WBFS formatted drive, the difference is that it's a usable or tangible format when on FAT32. They use the same "compression" or "scrubbing" methods.
    Damn I suck!!!!

  11. 1 User Says Thank You Krank For This Useful Post


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •