Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: super smash bros and USBLoader

  1. #1
    New Member fruitfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 21 Times in 9 Posts

    super smash bros and USBLoader

    Forgive me and move this if it is supposed to be in another section. I'm sure it is a common problem but couldn't find it in the search function or on any site on google.

    I have ripped the game to my hard drive from disk and after some trial and error and installing hermes ios v4 to rip the dual layer disk it works fine, apart from when I want to play the "master pieces" demos, resets to system menu. Does this mean that I will have to play with the disk every time I want to start the demos?

    I am blindly guessing it is because the wii is becoming the system that the games were made for rather than emmulating them, similar to why you cannot play gamecube games via usb, but correct me if I am wrong because a workaround would be great.
    COD WAW - 5414 1417 9162
    COD MWF 4083 9512 5474

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,420
    Thanks
    1,828
    Thanked 4,294 Times in 3,608 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Huh? This game, if ripped properly, performs flawlessly.

  3. #3
    New Member fruitfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 21 Times in 9 Posts
    Even the demos?

    I read somewhere that it was a problem

    Let me find it.

    We Hack Wii / ISO Loader Compatibility

    It is all I could find on google.

    Maybe I should try ripping it off the disk again on ISO 223 rather than 222? I have the PAL version. and it works flawlessly apart from crashing to system menu when I try to play a masterpiece.
    COD WAW - 5414 1417 9162
    COD MWF 4083 9512 5474

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,420
    Thanks
    1,828
    Thanked 4,294 Times in 3,608 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Huh, it appears you're right on that subfeature. I guess I never bothered trying such a... esoteric option. This via Neo Gamma R8; if any different on USB Loader GX, I'll edit my reply.

  5. #5
    New Member fruitfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 21 Times in 9 Posts
    So your demos are also crashing on neogamma?

    Perhaps they need to be loaded from the disk because usb/sd and other features get turned off when they are started up?
    COD WAW - 5414 1417 9162
    COD MWF 4083 9512 5474

  6. #6
    Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    Darkcide666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    3,719
    Thanks
    560
    Thanked 923 Times in 666 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fruitfly View Post
    I read somewhere that it was a problem

    Let me find it.

    We Hack Wii / ISO Loader Compatibility
    Dude...That's an outdated GC backup compatibility list. I use USB Loader GX and the game apears to work fine because my kids play it all the time but neither they nor I have ever tried playing the masterpieces part. I'll give it a shot when I get home from work to see if I have any problems. I didn't know you could change options of what cIOS you use to rip the game in GX or that different cIOS were even relevant to ripping a game to your HDD!?!?!?!
    "Hackers solve problems and build things, and they believe in freedom and voluntary mutual help." - Eric S. Raymond

  7. #7
    New Member fruitfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 21 Times in 9 Posts
    Well I got told to install that particular cios to get the game to rip properly and avoid the classic green screen errors. And since I did, the game ripped fine for me and preformed perfectly (apart from the demos not working ofc)

    My understanding was that you need to be using a cios that supports dual layer disks to upload them from the disk. Either hermes 222 or the new rev17.
    Also any father who plays SSBB must be quite epic to have nearby. My dad spits on computer games, mind you he is beyond 60
    COD WAW - 5414 1417 9162
    COD MWF 4083 9512 5474

  8. #8
    Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    Darkcide666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    3,719
    Thanks
    560
    Thanked 923 Times in 666 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fruitfly View Post
    Well I got told to install that particular cios to get the game to rip properly and avoid the classic green screen errors. And since I did, the game ripped fine for me and preformed perfectly (apart from the demos not working ofc)



    Also any father who plays SSBB must be quite epic to have nearby. My dad spits on computer games, mind you he is beyond 60
    That's in reference to playing back ups. Some older cIOS revs didn't properly support playing dual layer games. It's all ironed out now to my knowledge. Thanks for the compliment but I'm not quite ancient yet at 33. I had my kids young so I could still relate to them as they get older and grew up playing games so it is what it is. Give me an hour or two to try the masterpieces and I'll report back if I have problems too.
    "Hackers solve problems and build things, and they believe in freedom and voluntary mutual help." - Eric S. Raymond

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    narse1979's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Fairy Land
    Posts
    7,489
    Thanks
    826
    Thanked 1,775 Times in 1,371 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    lol @ 33 Darkcide666...
    Not sure if you are talking about Mario against Kirbie fight - You win then it crashes? I have the same problem and have tried all sorts to get it sorted without any success....


  10. #10
    New Member fruitfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 21 Times in 9 Posts
    Sig frightened me for a second ^

    No, when I try to play any demo it just goes to the system menu before it starts, and after the message saying it is only a trial etc.
    COD WAW - 5414 1417 9162
    COD MWF 4083 9512 5474

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •