Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Virtual Console - Black Screen?

  1. #1
    New Member selfdestruct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Virtual Console - Black Screen?

    I've tried searching around a bit for similar topics, but can't seem to find a solution.

    First off, this may seem like an extremely common problem which can be caused by the use of Component Cables. But it appears not to be the case.

    NES, SNES and Genesis Virtual Console games just go to a black screen when launched with no sound, and the Wiimote looses sync. Wii basically freezes and has to be hard reset.

    Now, on the other hand N64 Virtual Console games work flawlessly.

    I've included a Syscheck log for those with a bit more insight to offer a helping hand and hopefully point out any problems

    Region: PAL
    System Menu 4.3E (v514)
    Hollywood v0x11
    Boot2 v4

    Found 90 titles.
    Found 52 IOS on this console. 6 of them are stub.

    IOS3 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS9 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
    IOS11 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS12 (rev 526): No Patches
    IOS13 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS14 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS15 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS16 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
    IOS17 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS20 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS21 (rev 1039): No Patches
    IOS22 (rev 1294): No Patches
    IOS28 (rev 1807): No Patches
    IOS30 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS31 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS33 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS34 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS35 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS36 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS37 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS38 (rev 4124): No Patches
    IOS40 (rev 3072): Stub
    IOS41 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS43 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS45 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS46 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS48 (rev 4124): No Patches
    IOS50 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
    IOS52 (rev 5888): Stub
    IOS53 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS55 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS56 (rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS57 (rev 5919): No Patches
    IOS58 (rev 6176): No Patches
    IOS60 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS61 (rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS70 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS80 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS90 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug
    IOS202 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS222 (rev 4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS223 (rev 4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS224 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS236 (rev 54321): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS247 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS248 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS249 (rev 17): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS250 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
    BC v6
    MIOS v65535

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Nancy the Moderator

    VWA, Game Master, News Hound
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    Red_Gh0st's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Puerto Rico. Sexyness: 2376
    Posts
    6,289
    Thanks
    628
    Thanked 2,144 Times in 1,350 Posts
    Blog Entries
    26
    There is a thread that tells you which IOS the WiiWare/VC uses to launch.

  3. #3
    New Member selfdestruct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have already had a look at that thread, but it only listed a handfull of games, and most I am not using.

    I really want to get to the bottom of this. N64 and NeoGeo games work perfectly. The N64 Games seem to be using the same IOS as SNES and NES games (IOS9). So go figure.

    I'm really at a loss as to why they won't load.

    Just black screen, Wii remote looses Sync - Hard Reset.

    How does my Syscheck look to someone with more of a understanding of these things?

    Is there anything I am missing which might cause this problem?
    Last edited by selfdestruct; 10-24-2010 at 12:48 PM.

  4. #4
    New Member summersyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    West Coast, CA
    Posts
    511
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 148 Times in 125 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    I'm looking over your syscheck, and did you use pimp my wii to update ALL of your IOSs? I know they are not patched, so good move there I suppose, but it would appear that ALL of them are at the highest version possible.

    Edit: What is with your version of IOS9? This may show my lack of knowledge, but I see some games use IOS9, and this may be what is up for all I know.
    Last edited by summersyn; 10-24-2010 at 01:10 PM.
    Give credit where credit is due. If it helps you, click "thanks" on ANY guide I link.

  5. #5
    New Member selfdestruct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the reply dude.

    No I have never used Pimp My Wii. I have only followed the 4.3 Softmod guide here.
    Is it a good idea to try Pimp My Wii or pointless?
    As for my IOS9 I have just had a look in NUS Downloader and the IOS9 version on there is v1034. Totally different version to mine. Does this mean I should try updating it?

    From what I have read black screens and lock ups are normally a result of a missing IOS so once again i'm confused.

    I'm fairly new on the scene, so still playing it by ear to some extent.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Krank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8,895
    Thanks
    953
    Thanked 4,321 Times in 2,128 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    Your IOS are fine so that is not the cause. Get your games from the shop channel again.

    Never ever use Pimp My Wii.
    Last edited by Krank; 10-24-2010 at 02:23 PM.
    Damn I suck!!!!

  7. #7
    New Member summersyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    West Coast, CA
    Posts
    511
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 148 Times in 125 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    I suppose those would be the IOSs you have from a 4.3 Wii, I did not realize that was your SM (even though it was in your syscheck, and I missed it). I am too inexperienced in this to simply tell you to change your IOS9, as I do not know what is with yours, nor do I know what will happen if you change it. Not only that, but from THIS page...
    Orange - included with the 4.3 update. These updates disable IOS downgrading capabilities.
    - IOS 9 (v778)(v1034): Used by System Menu 1.0 and launch titles (Zelda: Twilight Princess).
    A google search of "IOS9 rev 54321" brought up quite a few syschecks of people with 4.3 wiis, so it is probably fine.
    Give credit where credit is due. If it helps you, click "thanks" on ANY guide I link.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Krank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8,895
    Thanks
    953
    Thanked 4,321 Times in 2,128 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    A google search of "IOS9 rev 54321" brought up quite a few syschecks of people with 4.3 wiis, so it is probably fine.
    This is normal and included in all of Mauifrog's guides. As I mentioned, the problem is not with your IOS.
    Damn I suck!!!!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •