Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Internet not working, please help.

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Internet not working, please help.

    Hi all,

    I have not used my Wii for a while and the Internet access was fine but not now! and I don't know why but mt laptops etc have no issues using this O2 broadband router (Thomson TG585 v7). I have tried all the troubleshooting tips by myself, my ISP provider and Ninendo but no luck. I get an error code in the range of 52XXX which means an issue with ip router setting. I did the following to no avail:

    There is a problem with the access point settings:

    We recommend that you manually enter your IP Address, Subnet Mask, Default Gateway and your Primary and Secondary DNS servers in to your console. You should be able to retrieve these items from your ISP (Internet Service Provider) if you do not know them already. Also try enabling DHCP on your router, this allows the router to distribute IP addresses to all connected devices.

    There is a problem with the wireless channel or mode being used:

    Try changing the channel on your router to either Channel 1 or 11, as these would not be affected by any similar devices in your area using the same channels. Your router documentation should explain how to do this. Some routers utilise the newer wireless N standard which generally create unstable connections, we would recommend switching your router to use wireless B and G in Mixed Mode.

    Your wireless encryption key (also known as WEP or WPA) is incorrect:

    Try ensuring that you are using Key 1 in your WEP key list.
    Check that these settings are correct by consulting your ISP or Router Manufacturer.


    I even used my ipconfig /all to enter DNS etc entries but still no luck. I even used another non O2 rouer and still got the same problem so the Wii is at fault, but how can it be when I have not even used the Wii for a while and at no point did I do any upgrades etc? its a bit odd.

    The only thing I did change was from WEP to WPA but I have reset my router and changed back to WEP and also with no security and turned off my Firewall and still no luck.

    In the end Nintendo wanted my Wii returned for repair but I just want to now is there anything I can do before I return my Mod Wii?

    Many thanks.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    2,692
    Thanks
    254
    Thanked 396 Times in 369 Posts
    "not used my Wii for a while .....", that may be the root cause. not the router !
    what's the current version of the Wii console ?
    did u aware of WiiSHOP_v20 and ios-56 updated ?
    Last edited by billyhome; 10-19-2010 at 02:04 AM.

  3. #3
    New Member Bayliss79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    don't think so looks like you've tried everything but don't forget to make your wii a virgin before sending it back or they won't fix it and they'll also put it on 4.3 so be aware of that too.have u tried putting mario kart or another wifi game on and connect to wifi?or do u mean its the shop channel ect thats not working?
    Last edited by Bayliss79; 10-19-2010 at 02:07 AM.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by billyhome View Post
    "not used my Wii for a while .....", that may be the root cause. not the router !
    what's the current version of the Wii console ?
    did u aware of WiiSHOP_v20 and ios-56 updated ?

    Hi Billyhome,

    Firstly, how would not using the Wii for a while caused this? I am so curious about this.

    My version is 4.2

    As for WiiShop and ios 56, I am not aware of updating this and because I naver use the Wii shop and as for ios 56, I am unsure as I have downloaded many ios files in the past I wouldn't know anymore!

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bayliss79 View Post
    don't think so looks like you've tried everything but don't forget to make your wii a virgin before sending it back or they won't fix it and they'll also put it on 4.3 so be aware of that too.have u tried putting mario kart or another wifi game on and connect to wifi?or do u mean its the shop channel ect thats not working?

    Hi Bayliss79,

    I will try Mario Kart or another wifi games and see, but I wouldn't keep my hopes up because I am out of ideas but I will try and persevere and let you all know.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    2,692
    Thanks
    254
    Thanked 396 Times in 369 Posts

    Red face

    Quote Originally Posted by lee_yip18 View Post
    Hi Billyhome,

    Firstly, how would not using the Wii for a while caused this? I am so curious about this.

    My version is 4.2

    As for WiiShop and ios 56, I am not aware of updating this and because I naver use the Wii shop and as for ios 56, I am unsure as I have downloaded many ios files in the past I wouldn't know anymore!
    ...because i was thinking your WiiShopping channel & IOS might be outdated due to long idling.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by billyhome View Post
    ...because i was thinking your WiiShopping channel & IOS might be outdated due to long idling.

    Hi Biilyhome,


    Thanks for the reply, I didn't know this could cause the issue. I will try to download the Wii Shopping Channel and the IOS file you mentioned to my SD card and see what happens.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lee_yip18 View Post
    Hi Biilyhome,


    Thanks for the reply, I didn't know this could cause the issue. I will try to download the Wii Shopping Channel and the IOS file you mentioned to my SD card and see what happens.

    Thanks

    Hi,

    I have install the latest updates but no luck. I'll just reset to factory settings and return this to Wii. What a bummer.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    narse1979's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Fairy Land
    Posts
    7,489
    Thanks
    826
    Thanked 1,774 Times in 1,371 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    Have you changed to o2 ISP within the time you have not been using your wii?
    Have you tried deleting the old wireless setting on your wii and starting again...
    And as it is stated have you tried entering a static IP address -- You can do this on your wii --> Im not sure where you are from but in the uk a very common internal ip address used is 192.168.0.x - Try setting the x to 50 - This should give your wii a unique ip address as Im sure you dont have 50 items connecting to your wireless router lmao.


  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Narse1979,

    I am on o2!!!!!! but I have had o2 for a while before this happened, but I do remember they had sent me an email about upgrading the routers firmware or something like that. You think they messed my Wii?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •