Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Can I install PriLoader at any time?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Can I install PriLoader at any time?

    Hello Forum,

    I have a SoftModded 4.2 wii and I modded it when I was a fresh newb
    as opposed to a sort of experienced newb LMAO. Anyway, my concern
    is that I want to be able to recover if any kind of brick occurs, when I
    modded my wii, I did NOT install PriLoader, and I was stupid and didn't
    back up my NAND. Now I just modded my bros Wii and backed up his
    NAND, so if my Wii goes brick, can I use his NAND? Can I install PriLoader
    on my wii after it's been modded?? If so, how do I do that?

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Krafter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4,426
    Thanks
    460
    Thanked 1,092 Times in 857 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    No, you can not use your brothers NAND. Each NAND is encoded with a key that matches the Wii it came from. It's never to late to make a backup of your NAND. If you ever need to use it then it will return your Wii to the state is is at now.

    You can install Priiloader at anytime. Just follow this guide here.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Krank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8,895
    Thanks
    953
    Thanked 4,321 Times in 2,128 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    No you can't use his nand. But you can backup your own still.

    follow WiiJohns Priiloader guide to install Priiloader.
    Damn I suck!!!!

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    DO NOT ATTEMPT TO FLASH A WII USING A NAND BACKUP FROM ANOTHER SYSTEM, YOU WILL BRICK THE WII TO THE FULLEST EXTEND POSSIBLE

    That being said, you can install priiloader using the homebrew channel once you have cIOS 249 installed, follow this guide for more information, just keep in mind, if you install a new system menu version you will need to re-install priiloader.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Ok, I went to HBC and clicked launch bootmii and the disc drive just kept flashing, I want to backup my NAND what could be wrong?

  6. #6
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Krafter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4,426
    Thanks
    460
    Thanked 1,092 Times in 857 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    You need your bootmii folder on your SD card. If you can't find it then reinstall Bootmii by using the Hackmii installer. It will create one. Look here.

  7. 1 User Says Thank You Krafter For This Useful Post


  8. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    What does the NAND hold just the BIOS of the WII or does it contain all of the mods / channels etc...? That worked by the way, thank you.

    How can I find out if I have the correct IOS files installed? I don't remember what I installed on this Wii and I definitely don't want to brick it.
    Last edited by Krank; 09-24-2010 at 11:30 PM. Reason: double post

  9. #8
    Senior Member Krank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8,895
    Thanks
    953
    Thanked 4,321 Times in 2,128 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    You can run a syscheck (look in the guides section for info, its a sticky thread by stomp). Just curious, why are you worried about your IOS?

    The NAND is the wii's internal memory, it stores pretty much everything.
    Damn I suck!!!!

  10. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Because one time I installed over top of an IOS on a wii and it bricked it, and the priloader v0.4(rev78) has this in the readme:

    for installation you need the ios used to be patched with ES_DIverify & trucha ( in most cases you run
    the installer from the Homebrew channel so that should be IOS36)

    I just walk on eggshells when I'm messing with Wii software anymore.
    Last edited by hookahschwa; 09-24-2010 at 11:32 PM.

  11. #10
    Senior Member Krank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8,895
    Thanks
    953
    Thanked 4,321 Times in 2,128 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    The only way that would happen is if you installed a stubbed system menu IOS. Never install a stub IOS - Never Delete an IOS below 200.

    If your Wii is softmodded you should have no problem installing priiloder (follow the guide krafter linked above). If it gives you an error durring install then Hold B and press A/+ to install using your cIOS (I think this is covered in the guide).
    Damn I suck!!!!

  12. 1 User Says Thank You Krank For This Useful Post


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •