Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Gamecube Controller necessary for Softmodding?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Gamecube Controller necessary for Softmodding?

    One tutorial (Doggeggs) mentions a Gamecube Controller and the other (Mauifrog) doesn't mention it and it appears that it is using a WiiMote (Press 1, A, B, etc.). I am thinking of following the Mauifrog tutorial as that's the advice I got from some experienced users here. But would like to know before I start about this Gamecube Controller need or not. Thanks ....

  2. #2
    New Member summersyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    West Coast, CA
    Posts
    511
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 148 Times in 125 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    As far as I know, you only need the gamecube controller for bootmii, which I suggest making a backup with during the process. The good news is you can use the console itself to navigate the menu instead of the GC controller. Use power to toggle selected item and reset to enter that menu.
    Last edited by summersyn; 09-05-2010 at 07:41 PM.
    Give credit where credit is due. If it helps you, click "thanks" on ANY guide I link.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thank you, will write that down for sure. And I WILL be doing a NAND backup and I think I will be able to install to bootv2 because I have an older Wii.

  4. #4
    New Member summersyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    West Coast, CA
    Posts
    511
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 148 Times in 125 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    I realized that made no sense. That now says "Use power to toggle selected item and reset to enter that menu."
    Give credit where credit is due. If it helps you, click "thanks" on ANY guide I link.

  5. #5
    New Member ledhead900's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    TAS
    Posts
    127
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    NO. Most softmod guides and the software in them you need install have a warning telling u to NOT have any Game cube Controllers or memory packs plugged into the wii while doing the softmod. Im not sure the exact reasons why but my guess is that it may hang your system and brick your wii during the modding procsess.

    YES. It is safe to use GameCube Controllers after you have succesfully completed the softmod procedure's and tested to varify its all in working order.

    To work bootmii in the mean time use the Power Button to cycle thru the options and hit Reset to select the option

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks for the corrected / correct info., will be trying to SoftMod this Wii quite soon.

  7. #7
    New Member ledhead900's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    TAS
    Posts
    127
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    Just realised that the newer CIOSRev's and some of the later soft mod packs will allow game cube control support but IMO its best to unplug everything other then the connected wii mote, At least until you have finished Dop-mii and CIOS/hermes install and Priiloader just to be on the safe side
    Wii U Black 32GB - unmodified pending stable hacks.
    Retired White Wii - 4.2E:
    USBLOADER-GX, Hermes v4/5, Priiloaderv0.7, Ciosx rev21DX2
    Sandisk 8gig SDHC, USB - WD Elements 1TB External HDD





Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •