Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Issue running original gamecube disc Zelda Twilight Princess

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Issue running original gamecube disc Zelda Twilight Princess

    I recently softmodded my bro's 4.2u wii using a guide (http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...tml#post416426)

    I was able to play soul calibur 2, p.n.03 and fire blade - all 3 discs are original pal gamecube games, not backups.
    I started the games via disc channel.

    HOWEVER when I tried to play my fourth gamecube game(zelda twilight princess), also a pal original disc for the gamecube, the game is recognised as a gamecube one in disc channel and when i press start the wii seems to start loading it but the screen remains blank and nothing happens.

    This odd behavior only occurs with zelda twilight princess, and since I have no other gamecube discs that makes a 3/4 success rate :|

    I had enabled "region free everything" system hack in priiloader - reason for the 3 games working fine on a ntsc wii.

    Today I did something different- disabled the region free everything system hack in priiloader and tried neogamma to boot the soul calibur 2 game. This worked! BUT when I tried the zelda disc the same blank screen was the result.

    Next I tried usb loader gx, having a wbfs usb flash drive. I inserted the soul calibur 2 disc, usb loader gx asked if i wanted to mount it and i said yes and it detected the disc as soulcalibur2 and the game started fine!
    I did the same for the zelda game, usb loader gx detected the disc as legend of zelda: twilight princess etc and when i clicked on it to load, SAME BLANK SCREEN!!!

    summary of facts:
    gameriginal pal zelda twilight princess for the gamecube
    wii: softmodded 4.2u using mentioned guide^
    other stuff: this zelda game works on a gamecube console, it also works on a pal wii (2 separate wiis i have used in the past)

    ANY ideas what the problem might be?

  2. #2
    New Member yoshinator2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am not completely sure but the game might not have NTSC video code so it wont boot on your NTSC wii, just to be sure try starting the game with it set to force PAL video mode. if the game then works but it is black and white and there is flickering black bars on screen then that means that the game does not have NTSC video code so then it wont work perfectly period
    Down there is the MODs I have on my Wii



    Wii 4.3| cIOS 249 rev20b (Waninkoko) | cMIOS rev5 (Waninkoko)| cIOS 222, 223 v4 (Hermes) (Only works in Flow Loader)| Wii cover Flow Loader| USB Loader GX| NeoGamma R7| GC Backup Launcher Xi| GC Backup Laucher v0.2| NeoGamma R9 beta 44

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    HBC 1.0.8 IOS58 v24.31
    Priiloader v0.4 (r78) IOS v70 sm v481

    Neogamma R8, ISO249 (Rev17)

    +Region options
    -Boot lang (console default, auto force, etc)
    -force video (wii, disc, NTSC480i/p, (M)pal480i/p, pal576i)
    -patch video (no, normal, more, all)
    -vidtv patch (y/n)
    -patch country st. (y/n)

    +config options
    -hook type (none, vbi, kpad, joypad, gxdraw, gxflush, ossleepthread, axnextframe)
    -ocarina on (y/n)
    -debugger (y/n, p. start)
    -altern. dol (disc+ only, n/, storage, disc, disc+)
    -search patches (y/n)
    -storage device (sd/usb using cIOS/IOS36/IOS61)
    -gamecube mode (MIOS, int, ext)
    -save config (y/n)

    +rebooter mode
    -recovery mode (y/n)
    -region free (y/n)
    -remove copy flag (y/n)
    -button skip (y/n)
    -skip updates (y/n)
    -force CIOS (y/n)
    -preloader support (y/n)

    i tried forcing the pal video as suggested but was unable to get the game to run.
    Above are the settings for neogamma to be clear what is configured
    Is it possible that i am missing some files that are required to run some pal gamecube games on a ntsc wii?

    edit:
    came across this in another thread:

    "sometimes the updates install new IOS's, so you will still have to manually install IOS's if a game requires a certain IOS that you do not have installed, you will get a black screen if you do not have the required IOS." (http://www.wiihacks.com/other-faq-gu...tml#post303498)

    so im thinking maybe im missing an IOS that is required by twilight princess :s
    Last edited by qoil-0; 09-03-2010 at 05:06 AM. Reason: found some info

  4. #4
    New Member yoshinator2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    You are probably right but what MIOS rev are you using?
    Down there is the MODs I have on my Wii



    Wii 4.3| cIOS 249 rev20b (Waninkoko) | cMIOS rev5 (Waninkoko)| cIOS 222, 223 v4 (Hermes) (Only works in Flow Loader)| Wii cover Flow Loader| USB Loader GX| NeoGamma R7| GC Backup Launcher Xi| GC Backup Laucher v0.2| NeoGamma R9 beta 44

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    MIOS rev? how do i find that out

  6. #6
    New Member yoshinator2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Post a SYS check

    tutorial on how to post a SYS check here: http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...tem-check.html
    Down there is the MODs I have on my Wii



    Wii 4.3| cIOS 249 rev20b (Waninkoko) | cMIOS rev5 (Waninkoko)| cIOS 222, 223 v4 (Hermes) (Only works in Flow Loader)| Wii cover Flow Loader| USB Loader GX| NeoGamma R7| GC Backup Launcher Xi| GC Backup Laucher v0.2| NeoGamma R9 beta 44

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Spoiler



    according to syscheck the mios is v10

  8. #8
    New Member yoshinator2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    EDIT: try the Latest NeoGamma (it is R9 and it is meant to improve GC disc loading)

    get it here: NeoGammaR9beta44.zip
    Last edited by yoshinator2000; 09-06-2010 at 01:29 PM.
    Down there is the MODs I have on my Wii



    Wii 4.3| cIOS 249 rev20b (Waninkoko) | cMIOS rev5 (Waninkoko)| cIOS 222, 223 v4 (Hermes) (Only works in Flow Loader)| Wii cover Flow Loader| USB Loader GX| NeoGamma R7| GC Backup Launcher Xi| GC Backup Laucher v0.2| NeoGamma R9 beta 44

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I tried the neogamma from your link and no, it didn't work..
    Same result as before. Surely i'm not the only person that has tried playing a pal gamecube twilight princess on a ntsc wii

  10. #10
    New Member yoshinator2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well then you are going to either have to get another person to help or you are going to have to get the NTSC version of the game. Because I cant think of anything else that would help sorry D:
    Down there is the MODs I have on my Wii



    Wii 4.3| cIOS 249 rev20b (Waninkoko) | cMIOS rev5 (Waninkoko)| cIOS 222, 223 v4 (Hermes) (Only works in Flow Loader)| Wii cover Flow Loader| USB Loader GX| NeoGamma R7| GC Backup Launcher Xi| GC Backup Laucher v0.2| NeoGamma R9 beta 44

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •