Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Updating the Homebrew Channel

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Updating the Homebrew Channel

    Hi, I'm new to this whole Wii Homebrew thing, so I was wondering how to update the channel. First off, when I got my Wii it was already installed with the Homebrew Channel which would explain why I don't understand what's going on. So once I started using it with the internet on, it told me that there was an update to it, and then I tried to install it. Once the download finished I came to a menu asking me if I wanted to install/uninstall Homebrew Channel and bootmii so I tried to but I would get a "Exception (DSI) occurred" on the top line of the list of letters and numbers that followed. Then I turned my Wii off and then back on, still not updated.

    Note: not sure if this matters, but my Homebrew Channel is version 1.0.1

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Nancy the Moderator

    VWA, Game Master, News Hound
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    Red_Gh0st's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Puerto Rico. Sexyness: 2376
    Posts
    6,289
    Thanks
    628
    Thanked 2,143 Times in 1,350 Posts
    Blog Entries
    26
    You can try updating it manually. Download the latest hackmii installer 0.8 and lauch it using the HBC.

  3. #3
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff

    Junior Moderator
    Bliepo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    On your harddrive (file name: Bliepo.crazy)
    Posts
    1,581
    Thanks
    241
    Thanked 391 Times in 312 Posts
    Blog Entries
    4
    If you have bootmii as boot2 installed (the disc light will flash twice when you power on if bootmii as boot2 is installed), you can also use bootmini.elf to update. Just select the SD card icon (using power to select the next item in the list) and then bootmini.elf.
    Awesome sig picture does not work
    Brick Prevention- Things you should never do | Ignoring advice and bricking | Be a jedi, donate
    Guide: Softmod ANY wii | How to post a system check | Loading and Playing Wii Backup Games from USB HDD (softmod only)
    System Menu X (IOS150, E) | HBC 1.08 (IOS58) | bootmii/boot2v4 | priiloader 0.7 | cIOSX rev21d2x_v6 (main base IOS 57) | cIOS 223 (IOS 37 + 38 merged) | USB Loader GX 2.2

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    oh, btw, I was looking through the "Brick Prevention" thread and noticed "Never update a region changed Korean wii." So, as you might know since I pointed it out, I have a region changed Korean wii. Does this change the situation at all?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Nancy the Moderator

    VWA, Game Master, News Hound
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    Red_Gh0st's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Puerto Rico. Sexyness: 2376
    Posts
    6,289
    Thanks
    628
    Thanked 2,143 Times in 1,350 Posts
    Blog Entries
    26
    That's for system menu updates.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ok, so I've downloaded the hackmii installer v0.8, what do I do now?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Nancy the Moderator

    VWA, Game Master, News Hound
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    Red_Gh0st's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Puerto Rico. Sexyness: 2376
    Posts
    6,289
    Thanks
    628
    Thanked 2,143 Times in 1,350 Posts
    Blog Entries
    26
    Put in the apps folder on your SD Card and launch it using the Homebrew Channel.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I was able to open it and the next part said:
    "The test results are in
    Using IOS Version: Installer: 61 HBC: 61
    The Homebrew Channel: Can be installed
    The bootmii: Can only be installed as a IOS
    The installed boot1 prevents a boot2 to install(-2)"

    The only option was continue which led me to installing HBC and bootmii which brought me back to the same problem

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    help please

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •