Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Help with updating Modchip to play super mario galaxy 2.

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unhappy Help with updating Modchip to play super mario galaxy 2.

    Hi there, I am new to the forums. I have a mod chip installed on my wii but I don't know what type of mod chip I have. I didn't softmod and I dont have an SD card. I want to play Super Mario Galaxy 2 but i'm sure I need a firmware update. My current firmware is 3.1U. How would I update this while still keeping my mod chip fully functional? Also, since I don't know which mod chip I have would my wii brick if I just kept trying different types of firmware updates for different chips? Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by vegeto394; 08-09-2010 at 11:37 AM.

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    If you tied tons of different firmwares you probably would get a brick(did you buy your wii premodded). To run mario galaxy 2 I would recommend a softmod on top of your modchip(to update IOS's requireed for games), as well as have the ability to have priiloader block disc based updates as well as online ones. The Homebrew channel also grants the ability to use fun tools like riivoltuion and gecko os. It is worth the $10 for a 2gb sd card(buy a kingston, it works for me) to hold homebrew as well as a NAND backup. I think it would be worthwhile for you to softmod as yuo can also load games via USB. The modchip itself may work fine but your wii itself may not be updated to support the game(mario galaxy 2 relies upon a newer IOS to run, so you need to softmod for it to work, unless you want to use a nintendo update, which may prevent your chip from working). You must install IOS56-64v5405 for Mario Galaxy 2 to run, and It is installed in wii update 4.2(and updating isn't a good idea) you would have to manually update via a softmod through Dop-mii and NUS Downloader. Make sure to install trucha bug with them as well. There is a guide to softmodding located Here.

  3. 1 User Says Thank You ExtremeYoshiFan For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Krafter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4,425
    Thanks
    460
    Thanked 1,090 Times in 857 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    If you don't care about playing out of region games then being on 4.2 System Menu isn't a bad thing with a modchip. The only thing that 4.2 did was stub the slots for cIOS249 and prevent modchips from running out of region games. That being said, I would do as ExtremeYoshiFan (LOL, nice name) has suggested. Softmoding is by far a better way to go in my opinion and it's also easier to keep your system up to date.

  5. 1 User Says Thank You Krafter For This Useful Post


  6. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ExtremeYoshiFan View Post
    If you tied tons of different firmwares you probably would get a brick(did you buy your wii premodded)
    I did not buy my wii premodded. I bought the wii around the first month that it came out. Shortly after i went to another city to get my mod chip installed. Me, being the noob that i am haha, I forgot what kind of mod chip he installed. Softmodding looks like al lot of work to set up haha. But if i do choose to softmod, i would need a SD card and an SD card reader for my computer right? And would I be able to play games via backup disc or does it solely rely on SD and usb. Also, the backups i have are Super Mario Galaxy 2 and new super mario bros, when i first tried to run it, the screen was black, it didn't go into the "you must update" stage, what does that mean? Thanks for all your help guys
    Last edited by vegeto394; 08-09-2010 at 01:39 PM.

  7. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,552
    Thanks
    364
    Thanked 2,240 Times in 1,111 Posts
    Blog Entries
    8
    Black screen means that you are missing an IOS, normally a disc update would install that IOS, but since you did not update you need to install the IOS manually. You can do this once you softmod.

    Your Wii is old enough that you can play backup discs with a softmod, softmod would also allow the use of a USB device or SD card to play backups.
    Last edited by Stomp_442; 08-09-2010 at 01:54 PM.

  8. 1 User Says Thank You Stomp_442 For This Useful Post


  9. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Would i be able to softmod with a USB instead of an SD Card? This would be much easier for me. If so, could you please direct me to a tutorial?

    And once i softmod my wii can i play both from the USB and physical game DVD back up discs?

  10. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by vegeto394 View Post
    I did not buy my wii premodded. I bought the wii around the first month that it came out. Shortly after i went to another city to get my mod chip installed. Me, being the noob that i am haha, I forgot what kind of mod chip he installed. Softmodding looks like al lot of work to set up haha. But if i do choose to softmod, i would need a SD card and an SD card reader for my computer right? And would I be able to play games via backup disc or does it solely rely on SD and usb. Also, the backups i have are Super Mario Galaxy 2 and new super mario bros, when i first tried to run it, the screen was black, it didn't go into the "you must update" stage, what does that mean? Thanks for all your help guys
    A softmod isn't that much work at all and can be done in a matter of minutes(the actual install of HBC and Bootmii, a NAND backup beforehand may take around 15 minutes), and yes, you will need an SD card reader(sometimes a digital camera will serve as one as it did for me). it also appears that your Modchip blocks updates(I could be wrong). Runnign Backups via a disc relies upon the program used to boot it, and if it has directly been installed to your wii(not recommended, forwarders work better, but rely upon a SD with the Homebrew Channel as well as a few other thing), Darkcorp would run backups via disc channel(but I wouldn't install it if I were you), but your modchip takes care of that, so the softmod would take care of updates(for new IOS's) as well as allow for USB Loading(which is very useful to some, especially if your Disc Drive breaks). You would need to softmod to be able to play galaxy 2, of you would need an update(and block playing out of region games, unless you softmodded on 4.2 afterwards). I hesistated at first because I thought it would be a challenge to set up and woudl be risky, I set up Backup Loading and USB loading via softmod, and I was amazed that it took less than 1 hour.

  11. 1 User Says Thank You ExtremeYoshiFan For This Useful Post


  12. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks. But would i be able to softmod with a usb?

  13. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thankyou!

    Thanks to all who helped. I have softmodded my wii and am now capable of playing super mario galaxy 2.

  14. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    For a next step, I recommend you try USB loading it's really good, and when you try it, there is no way back.

    My situation is just like yours. I have a Wii with a modchip (that I don't know which) and I softmoded it to update my IOSs. Now I tried USB loading and even been able to run a backup from the disc-channel, I never use it anymore. Try WiiFlow... it's the best in my opinion.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •