Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Black screen problem

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Black screen problem

    Hey, I didn't want to post a new thread about this, but it seems everyone's black screen issues are different and its hard to find one specific to my problem. So if someone wouldnt mind helping, it would be greatly appreciated.

    I softmodded my Wii last night following the tutorial on this site (I have 4.2u) and while I haven't gotten around to playing backup games yet, I did borrow some games from someone. I borrowed about 8 games, and some work and some don't. Wii Games, New SMB, Super Mario Galaxy and Mario Party 8 all work, no problems. But when I try to load other games (specifically Wii Sports Resort, NHL 2K10, and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles), I just get a black screen that requires a hard reset to turn off the Wii.

    What's up here?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,307
    Thanks
    1,802
    Thanked 4,246 Times in 3,571 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Look here. The first post includes a link to WSR, look at the second post for the others.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Wait, is this for retail games or for backups?

  4. #4
    Senior Member Krank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8,895
    Thanks
    953
    Thanked 4,321 Times in 2,128 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    Backups! Why would I make a thread on getting retail games to work? Pop them in your drive -- Done. (Long thread)
    Damn I suck!!!!

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I was asking about retail games. I pop them in my drive, hit Start on the main menu and the screen goes black. But only with certain games.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Krank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8,895
    Thanks
    953
    Thanked 4,321 Times in 2,128 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    Then you are missing the IOS the game needs. Look Here.

    Or there is something wrong with the disc.
    Damn I suck!!!!

  7. 1 User Says Thank You Krank For This Useful Post


  8. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    cornwall
    Posts
    391
    Thanks
    80
    Thanked 64 Times in 48 Posts
    i get same problem i updated from 3.1 to 4.1 had to re-mod wii now i have to run most but not all retail games through neogammer i know there is a fix just not got round to it works through neogammer so i am not to bothered

    give it a go through neogammer and see if they work
    Last edited by john28200; 08-01-2010 at 03:16 PM.
    if i helped you out just click the thanks button

  9. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Krank View Post
    Then you are missing the IOS the game needs. Look Here.

    Or there is something wrong with the disc.
    If I did the soft-mod of my Wii, wouldn't any IOS I have uninstalled be as a result of the tutorial telling me to do so? The common IOS seems to be IOS55-64-v4633. Anything I can do to fix it?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •