Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: SuperSmash freezes at stage choice with both dvd and usb, and with different copies.

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    SuperSmash freezes at stage choice with both dvd and usb, and with different copies.

    I'm running a softmodded wii via mauifrog's 4.3 virgin guide, and am downgraded to 4.1. It works great for every game I tried, except for supersmash brawl. Everything about the game works perfectly, until I try to choose a stage (map). At this point, the game freezes and makes a very very loud ERRRRR (think fire alarm). This problem can be circumvented though by setting the stage choice to random, so that the stage screen never appears. If this is done the game plays fine. But I can never choose a stage.

    My first thought was that it was a poor burn to the disk, so I burned a new one. When that didn't work, I assumed it was a bad download, so I download a different version. Exact same problem. Then I put all my games on an external and loaded them all via USB (first neogama, but now GX). They all worked fine except for Super Smash, which still locked up on the exact same spot.
    I looked over the other posts and couldn't find anything similar, so any help would be much appreciated. Let me know if you need any more information.

    Axel

    Note: I did NOT use SSBB to install homebrew. I used indiana jones. I have also installed cIOS38 Rev 17.

  2. #2
    New Member Rx10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    375
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 122 Times in 86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by axelfen View Post
    I'm running a softmodded wii via mauifrog's 4.3 virgin guide, and am downgraded to 4.1. It works great for every game I tried, except for supersmash brawl. Everything about the game works perfectly, until I try to choose a stage (map). At this point, the game freezes and makes a very very loud ERRRRR (think fire alarm). This problem can be circumvented though by setting the stage choice to random, so that the stage screen never appears. If this is done the game plays fine. But I can never choose a stage.

    My first thought was that it was a poor burn to the disk, so I burned a new one. When that didn't work, I assumed it was a bad download, so I download a different version. Exact same problem. Then I put all my games on an external and loaded them all via USB (first neogama, but now GX). They all worked fine except for Super Smash, which still locked up on the exact same spot.
    I looked over the other posts and couldn't find anything similar, so any help would be much appreciated. Let me know if you need any more information.

    Axel

    Note: I did NOT use SSBB to install homebrew. I used indiana jones. I have also installed cIOS38 Rev 17.
    This is happening to several People. Try installing custom IOSES for that game. It might work.

    The only thing i can think of is you choose Random Stage in the meantime
    Downgrade from 4.3 to 4.1

    Check this cool game http://supermariobroscrossover.com/

    If i get to help you, click the thanks button. It motivates to keep helping

  3. 1 User Says Thank You Rx10 For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Rx10 View Post
    This is happening to several People. Try installing custom IOSES for that game. It might work.
    Thanks for your responce, but could you elaborate? Is there a custom IOS for SSBB specifically, or is do you mean a general cIOS (like cIOS38 Rev 17, which I have). By the way, I'm a little confused about how to use IOSs, but that might be a question for another time.

  5. #4
    New Member Rx10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    375
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 122 Times in 86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by axelfen View Post
    Thanks for your responce, but could you elaborate? Is there a custom IOS for SSBB specifically, or is do you mean a general cIOS (like cIOS38 Rev 17, which I have). By the way, I'm a little confused about how to use IOSs, but that might be a question for another time.
    IOS are specific for every function Wii has. That's why when you install a new function that the wii cannot do when virgin you have to install IOS or use some that are allready made.

    I do not know exactly wich one you should install or if it's even an IOS issue. So far there is no official explanation of the situation. As soon i know how or see it posted i will let you know. Hopefully someone with more knowledge might help you
    Downgrade from 4.3 to 4.1

    Check this cool game http://supermariobroscrossover.com/

    If i get to help you, click the thanks button. It motivates to keep helping

  6. 1 User Says Thank You Rx10 For This Useful Post


  7. #5
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    narse1979's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Fairy Land
    Posts
    7,489
    Thanks
    826
    Thanked 1,775 Times in 1,371 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    The ios that the game uses is ios 36.
    Being on 4.3 you should have the latest versions anyway.

    I have seen people saying to use ios 222 to load the game in usb loader gx.


  8. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    First I'm a noob but have been searching this site and have gained a wealth of knowledge in the process.

    yeah I'm having the same problem. followed mauifrog's guide and tried with hermes ios 222/223. Also with rev17, but no luck yet. Freezes in the same spot with the retail dvd as well.

  9. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
    I remember I read somewhere here a guy saying he fixed a problem with this game using cIos38 rev13b. The problem this guy had was that when he finished the first battle on adventure mode (Mario vs Kirby) the game crashed. I'm having the same problem but haven't had a chance to test Rev13b besides I'm trying to find an alternate solution to avoid downgrading from Rev 17 to Rev 13b. Maybe the stage selection problem could be solved doing the same thing

    Also I think that guy was on Sysmenu 4.2 ... will look for that post.

    EDIT:
    Here's the post Help with SSBB
    Last edited by adrek; 08-03-2010 at 02:28 PM.

  10. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    This happened to me until I just simply removed my SD card from my wii, and SSBB no longer froze at the stage selection screen!

  11. 1 User Says Thank You KekeFufu For This Useful Post


  12. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KekeFufu View Post
    This happened to me until I just simply removed my SD card from my wii, and SSBB no longer froze at the stage selection screen!
    Don't you need the sd card to run USB loader? And thus wouldn't be able to play ssbb from a hdd?

  13. #10
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    Wall-Eyed Mucksucker
    emuhack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Windy City
    Posts
    7,473
    Thanks
    892
    Thanked 2,132 Times in 1,347 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    Not if you have a channel version of the loader that you are using....


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •