Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Wii internet access glitched out

  1. #1
    New Member becksterorange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    411
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 55 Times in 49 Posts

    Wii internet access glitched out

    Last night I was happily watching a movie via wiimc. I was streaming the video from my desktop with SMB. In the middle of the movie, it froze and I was booted back to the wiimc main menu. Ever since then, I haven't been able to access my network or the internet from the wii. The things I tried are:

    1. A connection test. FAIL
    2. reset router and tried again. FAIL
    3. reentered network info. FAIL.
    (it finds my network, but the connection test still wont work)
    4. restarted the wii. FAIL
    5. unplugged the wii and tried again. FAIL
    6. turned wii off, went to bed, came home from work tried again. FAIL
    7. tried to access weather and news channel. FAIL
    8. Checked to see if it was my router by using my laptop to wirelessly connect to the internet. SUCCESS

    What gives? Why did this happen in the middle of a connection? Any ideas on what else I can try?
    Wii 4.1U - cIOS38 rev17 - 500gbHDD - Wiiflow 2.1 - uLoader 5.1 - Wimc 1.0.9 - Priiloader 0.5 - boot2 - gamecube launcher 2.0 - cMIOS rev3

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    narse1979's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Fairy Land
    Posts
    7,489
    Thanks
    826
    Thanked 1,775 Times in 1,371 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    have you tried deleting all internet configurations and inputing new ones. I know you have said you tried re entering them but did you start from scratch?


  3. #3
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    Wall-Eyed Mucksucker
    emuhack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Windy City
    Posts
    7,471
    Thanks
    892
    Thanked 2,132 Times in 1,347 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    Try to take the security off the router and try that..... I have found that the wii does not like wpa security so I stick to mac filtering and wep... (mainly becuase nds does not support anything but wep)

  4. #4
    New Member becksterorange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    411
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 55 Times in 49 Posts
    Already tried deleting internet configuration and imputing new ones. Gonna try WEP now. Let you know how it works.
    Wii 4.1U - cIOS38 rev17 - 500gbHDD - Wiiflow 2.1 - uLoader 5.1 - Wimc 1.0.9 - Priiloader 0.5 - boot2 - gamecube launcher 2.0 - cMIOS rev3

  5. #5
    New Member becksterorange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    411
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 55 Times in 49 Posts
    Tried WEP. No dice. I also set up MAC access. No dice. I'm stumped as to why it was working one minute and nada the next.
    Wii 4.1U - cIOS38 rev17 - 500gbHDD - Wiiflow 2.1 - uLoader 5.1 - Wimc 1.0.9 - Priiloader 0.5 - boot2 - gamecube launcher 2.0 - cMIOS rev3

  6. #6
    New Member fiire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    235
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 76 Times in 55 Posts
    what router do you have? If it has a spi firewall (like Netgear), then disable it.


    |4.1U|Bootmii/boot2|Priiloader v.04|
    |Wiiflow 2.1 Forwarder|Triiforce MRC SS USB Forwarder|VBAgx v2.0.08|WiiMC v1.0.6|


    Create your own custom system menu theme



    IF YOU FOUND MY POST HELPFUL, PLEASE REMEMBER TO CLICK THANKS!


  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    how old is the wii it is possible the wifi fried. does it see any wifi available in your neighbor hood does it find your wifi that you have when you do a search. wii makes xternal wifi adaptors they dont cost much maybe this will work for you. without being there or knowing everything I can only help at what I know so far. again hard ware do fail time to time. this would be my guess.but again this is just a idea/

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    What error are you receiving on the failed connection tests? Do you know if your Wii is able to even contact the router (I.e. check to see if it is receiving a IP via DHCP)?

  9. #9
    New Member becksterorange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    411
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 55 Times in 49 Posts
    I have an older wii. It was originally version 3.1U. But has been updated to 4.1U. I tried disabling all security in my router, still no go. The strange thing is that when I look for my network in the wii, it finds it. It just won't connect. Also, when I look in my router, it says that the wii is connected. I dunno what is going on, but I sure would like to get it working again because I update and install a lot of files through my wii. (No I don't update through nintendo, so I know that they did not change my mods). Maybe my wifi is fried. But why does my router say that my wii is connected? I am stumped.
    Wii 4.1U - cIOS38 rev17 - 500gbHDD - Wiiflow 2.1 - uLoader 5.1 - Wimc 1.0.9 - Priiloader 0.5 - boot2 - gamecube launcher 2.0 - cMIOS rev3

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    narse1979's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Fairy Land
    Posts
    7,489
    Thanks
    826
    Thanked 1,775 Times in 1,371 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    Not sure if you have looked at nints trouble shooting pages HERE


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •