Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 36

Thread: Question regarding WADs

  1. #11
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    So since I already blew it and didn't post under the other thread, I guess I might as well post here again. I installed the WADs you told me to & while doing the steps listed, I went do downgrade to IOS15 I got the

    error: ES_addtitlestart returned - 1035, maybe you need an updated downgrader
    Error: Could not set the revision to 0
    Downgrade Failed.


    I looked up the error message and it said to fix it do the same thing as the error 2011 & it let me to this tutorial thread (sorry once again). This thread it led me to has the same steps I already followed and got the error. I searched updated Downgrader and didn't find anything.

    I'm sorry for any trouble I'm causing by posting here, just so you know I will be a donator soon, I just want my wii to be functional

  2. #12
    Senior Member Krank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8,895
    Thanks
    953
    Thanked 4,321 Times in 2,128 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    For clarification...you get the error when following the 3.1-4.1 softmod guide right? NOT the guide in my signature?

    Also, You can just Load DOP-Mii (with IOS36 v3351 on the root of your SD card) Read the warning, Press A -- Select IOS249(Should be selected already)-Press A-- Select IOS BC MIOS--- Use the D-pad to select IOS36 v3351 and Install it. It will ask you to apply patches, say YES to all.

    Read the screen closely to make sure you are INSTALLING IOS36 v3351.

    Edit: If that doesn't work then reinstall cIOS38 Rev 17 and try again.
    Last edited by Krank; 07-13-2010 at 10:54 PM.
    Damn I suck!!!!

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,552
    Thanks
    364
    Thanked 2,241 Times in 1,111 Posts
    Blog Entries
    8
    error ret-4100 has two meanings, not only is it a DVD error, it is also a wad error.

    Non Tech. Explanation:
    Someone who made the
    WAD file made a mistake
    and the WAD file has
    something wrong with it!

    Technical Explanation:
    The SHA- 1 hashes given
    in the TITLE.TMD may be
    wrong according to the
    *.APP files bundled with it.
    remedy
    1) If you created the WAD
    file, you should check the
    TITLE.TMD regarding the
    hashes (as mentioned). For
    this, use a He-x Editor such
    as xvi32. For more
    information see following:
    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Tmd
    _file_structure
    2) If its your own WAD,
    there might be some *.APP
    files missing, resulting in
    the same error as the 1st
    description.
    3) If its a downloaded
    WAD file search for a
    different source.
    I would just try redownload the wad again, if it came from mediafire, then it may be corrupted. I have seen more than one corrupted download from mediafire, or try a different source.
    Last edited by Stomp_442; 07-13-2010 at 11:00 PM.

  4. #14
    Senior Member Krank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8,895
    Thanks
    953
    Thanked 4,321 Times in 2,128 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    This doesn't really apply here though because it was an IOS wad. He got the error because he tried to uninstall an IOS he already uninstalled I believe.

    From reading the first post that is what it looks like to me anyway.
    Damn I suck!!!!

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,552
    Thanks
    364
    Thanked 2,241 Times in 1,111 Posts
    Blog Entries
    8
    Well, then explain the ret-4100, an IOS.wad is still a wad. Why don't he just reinstall the missing IOS15, being careful to install the correct version that matches his system menu, or the latest version that is not a stub. Maybe then the downgrader will work.

  6. #16
    Senior Member Krank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8,895
    Thanks
    953
    Thanked 4,321 Times in 2,128 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    Yes I suppose if he modified the wad in some way. Anyway, that was my solution as well in my first or second post, to install the wads he uninstalled.

    Just trying to help out.

    Edit: Also, if he has a working cIOS then there is no need to downgrade IOS15. Just install IOS36 with dop-mii and apply all patches.
    Last edited by Krank; 07-13-2010 at 11:15 PM.
    Damn I suck!!!!

  7. #17
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Krank View Post
    For clarification...you get the error when following the 3.1-4.1 softmod guide right? NOT the guide in my signature?

    Also, You can just Load DOP-Mii (with IOS36 v3351 on the root of your SD card) Read the warning, Press A -- Select IOS249(Should be selected already)-Press A-- Select IOS BC MIOS--- Use the D-pad to select IOS36 v3351 and Install it. It will ask you to apply patches, say YES to all.

    Read the screen closely to make sure you are INSTALLING IOS36 v3351.

    Edit: If that doesn't work then reinstall cIOS38 Rev 17 and try again.

    For your clarification it was the other 3.1 4.1 tutorial. I downloaded Dop Mii & am looking at your guide in your signature. I'm going to delete everything on my SD card (I'm assuming this is fine) and put the download on the Root like you said and try those steps.

  8. #18
    Senior Member Krank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8,895
    Thanks
    953
    Thanked 4,321 Times in 2,128 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    Ok, well you may try reading the post you quoted and install it that way...
    Damn I suck!!!!

  9. #19
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Alright so now that I have done your tutorial of restoring Trucha in IOS36 with Dop Mii, is there anything else I need to do? Should I run another syscheck so you can see if I have everything right?

    To be honest I'm such a noob I really don't understand most of what is going on, and I will be reading up on it (at work) so I can become a master like you.

  10. #20
    Senior Member Krank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8,895
    Thanks
    953
    Thanked 4,321 Times in 2,128 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    LOL, you still didn't do what I suggested in my last 3 posts,(If you followed the guide in my sig I mean)....but anyway, doesn't matter it works either way. If it said installation successful then it worked. Post a syscheck if you like.
    Damn I suck!!!!

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •