Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Help loading a game that gives a black screen

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Still getting black screen after loading game

    Thank you for taking the time to read this. I am so frustrated, I'm going to attempt to ask for help.

    My husband soft-modded our v4.1 wii quite some time ago. We've been using it with no problems on any games until now.
    I wanted Lego Harry Potter Years 1-4, we installed it to our usb hdd using usb loader gx, as we've always done. When we go to load it, however, it goes straight to a black screen and stays there.
    This is what I have in my homebrew, if it helps.
    cios38rev17 (which I downgraded from rev19 after seeing that it might be buggy)
    hermes cios 222 v4
    usb loader gx
    wiiflow
    Using dop-mii I've updated and/or downloaded every ios I thought we needed-specifically IOS56. I still get the black screen.
    I've tried installing and loading form both usb loader gx and wiiflow, both with the same results. What more do I need to do? I read the thread on problematic games over and over again hoping it would reveal something new, but it seems that a black screen suggests an outdated IOS, and I thought that
    I've remedied that. I'm at a loss as every thread that I've searched (and believe me, I've really tried to avoid bothering you by searching for DAYS-posting here is actually quite terrifying) suggests the same things are wrong and nothing is working for me. Please, enlighten me with your far superior knowledge and let me know what I'm doing wrong Please let me know if you need more info! THANK YOU!
    Last edited by EverFive; 07-03-2010 at 09:02 AM.

  2. #2
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Pob3008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    6,833
    Thanks
    915
    Thanked 2,106 Times in 1,487 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    You need to install ios 56 for this game. have u tried it ?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you for your response!
    I edited my original post to be more precise, but yes, I believe I have. I installed dop-mii per the instructions in the "Problematic Games" thread and used it to install IOS 56... I *thought I was successful, but perhaps I did it wrong?


    Just did a syscheck with dop-mii and next to ios 56 (v 5405) it says disabled disabled enabled disabled. Does that provide any info?
    Last edited by EverFive; 07-03-2010 at 09:19 AM. Reason: adding more info

  4. #4
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Pob3008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    6,833
    Thanks
    915
    Thanked 2,106 Times in 1,487 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    Is there a possibility its a bad iso?

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well, I'm not sure to be honest! I told dop-mii to install the ISO I thought I needed (ISO56). I've tried to search to see how to tell if an ISO is bad, but I'm having no luck. How do I know if the ISO is "bad"?

  6. #6
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Pob3008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    6,833
    Thanks
    915
    Thanked 2,106 Times in 1,487 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    try and open it with wii scrubber. Or try a different iso.

  7. 1 User Says Thank You Pob3008 For This Useful Post


  8. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pob3008 View Post
    try and open it with wii scrubber. Or try a different iso.

    I'm going to have to be dumb again. I see where to get wii scrubber, I found the tutorial thread. I'm still lost. I downloaded it to my PC, correct? Then how do I access the ISO? I don't have a dvd drive on my pc, and I'm not sure if I can access it directly from my usb hdd. It seems a bit advanced for an aboslute newbie like me (which is why I posted here) and even the tutorial assumes you have some knowledge of what's going on. I might need a bit more knowledge to just dive in Sorry in advance for being totally clueless (because, really...I am)

  9. #8
    Senior Member Krank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8,895
    Thanks
    953
    Thanked 4,321 Times in 2,128 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    Extract the ISO from your HD with WBFS manager. Open Wiisrubber, click LOAD ISO, browse for the ISO and click Open.

    iso = disk image

    IOS = something entirley different
    Damn I suck!!!!

  10. 1 User Says Thank You Krank For This Useful Post


  11. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Krank View Post
    Extract the ISO from your HD with WBFS manager. Open Wiisrubber, click LOAD ISO, browse for the ISO and click Open.

    iso = disk image

    IOS = something entirley different
    ah ha! Now it seems so obvious, I feel ridiculous. My ADD and ignorance have been made quite apparent in this thread, ha! I'm off to give this a go, thank you all for your patience!

  12. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok, so let's be sure I've done this correctly.

    I extracted the iso from my hd with WBFS manager. Then I opened it with wiiscrubber and after scrubbing it, loaded the file back into wbfs.
    Did I get that right? If that is correct, I still get a black screen after loading. grrrr.

    Now that I'm a little more aware of IOS vs iso I'm wondering if I made it clear that I copied the game from an original brand new purchased copy of the game? Is it still possible to get a bad iso with that? What now?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •