Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: A quick question about updates and their effect on the hacks.

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    A quick question about updates and their effect on the hacks.

    Well, hello everybody, I'm Josh and I hacked my Wii about a month ago. This is a post I wasn't expecting to make, but since seeing the amazing games at E3, I pretty much have no choice. I pretty much hacked it for the sole purpose of actually having something fun to do with my Wii, to play roms and run homebrew apps. It costed $500 and I felt crappy not having anything for it.

    However, after seeing the games at E3, I've decided that, since I'm going to buy the new batch of Nintendo games, I should ask about this. Since they're going to be totally new games, I'll have to update my Wii to play them. What will this do? Remove the homebrew channel? Can I re install it from the SD card that has everything on it? Will the updates conflict and brick my Wii? Can I easily manually update the Wii for the games not through Nintendo?

    I'd never go as far as pirating a Wii game, but I am concerned about what could happen to my console. Does anyone have any answers?

    Also, I tried to enable my Wii for the USB loader so I could play a Twilight Princess backup (I own the game but my nephew got a hold of it, go figure), I got an error message when I tried to install the cios36 thing and the wad manager. Did that do anything permanent to my Wii? Just wondering.

    I'd appreciate any feedback I could get, thanks!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,719
    Thanks
    1,893
    Thanked 4,390 Times in 3,684 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    If you've softmodded your Wii, one word: Priiloader. Users really need to be educated, games are IOS-dependent, not for example System Menu dependent. Example: Stomp still uses 3.2 and can play every game out there. Sounds like you didn't follow the softmod guide correctly. If it's Dogegg's guide, usually users mess up @ Step 3.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nightstah View Post
    If you've softmodded your Wii, one word: Priiloader. Users really need to be educated, games are IOS-dependent, not for example System Menu dependent. Example: Stomp still uses 3.2 and can play every game out there. Sounds like you didn't follow the softmod guide correctly. If it's Dogegg's guide, usually users mess up @ Step 3.
    It sounds like I need to get the Priiloader then, is it on the Homebrew Browser? What exactly do I need to do? I know I sound like a total noob, mostly because I am one, I just want to prevent anything from happening to my system.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Krank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8,895
    Thanks
    953
    Thanked 4,321 Times in 2,128 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    There are many install guides on the site for priiloader. It is also covered in ALL of our softmod guides. Search.
    Damn I suck!!!!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,719
    Thanks
    1,893
    Thanked 4,390 Times in 3,684 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Uberjosh View Post
    It sounds like I need to get the Priiloader then, is it on the Homebrew Browser? What exactly do I need to do? I know I sound like a total noob, mostly because I am one, I just want to prevent anything from happening to my system.
    Aside from what Krank says, you report an error. Keep in mind, if you did not do the softmod correctly then it goes to follow Priiloader won't install correctly. Just mentioning it, as I don't want that to happen.

  6. 1 User Says Thank You nightstah For This Useful Post


  7. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the help everybody, I successfully put Priiloader on my Wii. I have one last question though. I want to switch from a 500mb SD card to an 8gb for my Wii. Do I just have to copy over everything from my old card and put it on my new one, or are there other things I need to do? I want to use the extra capacity to make a backup just in case something goes wrong in the future.

  8. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Hey

    8GB is a little overkill but you can just copy everything over.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,719
    Thanks
    1,893
    Thanked 4,390 Times in 3,684 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Hey, TweakedEh:

    You get a chance, might want to reduce the physical size dimensionally of your sig photo --- rather large and I think out of acceptable size, OK?

  10. 1 User Says Thank You nightstah For This Useful Post


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •