Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Do only black Wii's can't run backups?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Puente Grande, Jalisco, Mexico, Mexico
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Do only black Wii's can't run backups?

    Well, that's my question, i've read that new black wii's have the D3-2 drive, that won't allow to run disc backups.

    My question is : Do only NEW black wii's wont allow to play backups? or both NEW White and black Wii's have this D3-2 drive.

    Thanks (excuse my english, currently learning)

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,452
    Thanks
    1,839
    Thanked 4,311 Times in 3,619 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    My white Wii bought in November, 2009 from Sam's Club here in the states had D3-2 drive in it (so to answer your question, no it's not only the black ones).

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Puente Grande, Jalisco, Mexico, Mexico
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks a lot, i'm gonna have to go used i think :S

  4. #4
    Senior Member Krank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8,895
    Thanks
    953
    Thanked 4,321 Times in 2,128 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    Or USB Loading which is much better IMO.
    Damn I suck!!!!

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Puente Grande, Jalisco, Mexico, Mexico
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, i thought of that too, but my daughter is very young, and i just want her to put grab the backup disc she want's, put it in the wii and play.
    She likes to change the game every 5 minutes, so thats why i want to have a backup of every game, as any kid of her age (6), it would be risky to let her use the original games.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Krank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8,895
    Thanks
    953
    Thanked 4,321 Times in 2,128 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    Makes sense. Just so you know though, with USB Loading she wouldn't be using the original games.

    Also you can set it up so that when you turn your wii on it Auto-boots to a USB Loader and then all she has to do is click the game she wants to play. Upon exiting the game it would then return to the USB Loader allowing her to select another game. No disk changing at all. USB Loaders also have Parental Control Features which make them very child friendly.

    I understand if you don't want to go this route, just thought I would let you know.
    Damn I suck!!!!

  7. #7
    Junior Member thatfloorguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,119
    Thanks
    313
    Thanked 198 Times in 167 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3
    My personal preference is usb loading. I have a young son (almost 4) and remaining on the couch and changing games with the Wiimote is much simpler than loading discs, not to mention no dropped,scratched or broken discs. Most, if not all loaders support game cover images, so they (my son anyway) enjoy being able to scroll through the covers to choose a game.
    4.2U / Priiloader / CiosX d2x v6/1TB WD fat32/Wiiflow r415
    ---------------------------------------------------
    Softmod any 4.2 Wii

    Playing Games from USB

    NSMB level editor (Reggie)

    WiiFlow

    Problematic Games?

    Custom Game Channels


  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thatfloorguy, please check your PMs and vistor messages really quick. I need your help with something. Not truing to waste the forums time at all.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Puente Grande, Jalisco, Mexico, Mexico
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I think im gonna go for the hard drive option, it looks pretty practical. Can i use any HD with a rack?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Forum Administrator
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    nightstah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Repatriated to WH
    Posts
    18,452
    Thanks
    1,839
    Thanked 4,311 Times in 3,619 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Lemming16 View Post
    I think im gonna go for the hard drive option, it looks pretty practical. Can i use any HD with a rack?
    No. Look here for a guide (and there are two links to compatibility lists within it).

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •