Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Genplus not loading harddrive

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Genplus not loading harddrive

    Hi I'm using genplus emu but it doesn't recognise my fat32 partition, I tested it with snes and worked fine. My old drive died on me yesterday my new drive works with everything apart from genplus .. Any help would great thank you!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    narse1979's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Fairy Land
    Posts
    7,489
    Thanks
    826
    Thanked 1,775 Times in 1,371 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    If you scrolled down the wii brew page you would have found this

    1. Copy on the root of your SD card the directory apps of the archive.
    2. Create a directory named /genplus/roms at the root of your SD card and place in your ROMs (.zip, .smd & .bin). There's a limit of 1000 files per directory.
    * The ROMs can be placed on DVD-/+R (4.7GB max size) but you need to install the DVDx on your Wii. More infos on HackMii. The DVD should use ISO 9660 file format.
    3. /genplus/saves is automatically created if it does not exist on your SD card.
    4. Select Load New Game from the Main Menu to load a ROM.
    5. Select Play Game from the Main Menu to begin playing the game.


  3. 1 User Says Thank You narse1979 For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Sorry correct me please if I'm wrong but I've been playing roms from harddrive for two months it's just now It shows the option to load from sd/USB/DVD when I try to select USB it goes to sd card but thank you for your response, I guess il have to put them in the sd

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    narse1979's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Fairy Land
    Posts
    7,489
    Thanks
    826
    Thanked 1,775 Times in 1,371 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    try marking the fat32 part as active


  6. #5
    New Member sgibson1980's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Bedford, Beds, UK
    Posts
    183
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 57 Times in 44 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    Wont make a difference... If you GOOGLE this problem you'll find that you should have made the FAT32 partition on your HD the 1st Partition on the Hard drive whereas you probably have the WBFS partition as 1st like me... GENPLUS only searches for 1st partition, if it doesnt find a FAT32 partition as Primary then it doesnt bother...

    Please click thanks if I helped
    4.1e, Bootmii/boot2, Cios Rev17, Darkcorp 1.0, cMios Rev5(Mios 10 base), WiiFlow, Neogamma 8 r17, Seagate Expansion Drive 1TB


  7. 1 User Says Thank You sgibson1980 For This Useful Post


  8. #6
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    narse1979's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Fairy Land
    Posts
    7,489
    Thanks
    826
    Thanked 1,775 Times in 1,371 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by sgibson1980 View Post
    Wont make a difference... If you GOOGLE this problem you'll find that you should have made the FAT32 partition on your HD the 1st Partition on the Hard drive whereas you probably have the WBFS partition as 1st like me... GENPLUS only searches for 1st partition, if it doesnt find a FAT32 partition as Primary then it doesnt bother...

    Please click thanks if I helped
    So does hb search further or not?


  9. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Apologies/genplus update

    Apologies for starting a new thread still new to forums, it works only when I reinstall through hbb, and disc loading isn't working either, when loading new game it stops working and goes to black screen.
    Please any ideas

  10. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    225
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sgibson1980 View Post
    Wont make a difference... If you GOOGLE this problem you'll find that you should have made the FAT32 partition on your HD the 1st Partition on the Hard drive whereas you probably have the WBFS partition as 1st like me... GENPLUS only searches for 1st partition, if it doesnt find a FAT32 partition as Primary then it doesnt bother...

    Please click thanks if I helped
    This is simply NOT true. My FAT32 partition is my secondary partition and it works perfectly fine. GENPLUS loads from my fat32 partition and loads roms from that same partition with no problems at all.

    I actually just went back and verified with 2 hard drives how they are setup and both are setup as fat32 as secondary partition. But it is a good suggestion none the less for the OP to try.
    Last edited by amps; 05-26-2010 at 03:05 PM.

  11. #9
    Senior Member
    Retired WiiHacks Staff
    narse1979's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Fairy Land
    Posts
    7,489
    Thanks
    826
    Thanked 1,775 Times in 1,371 Posts
    Blog Entries
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by amps View Post
    This is simply NOT true. My FAT32 partition is my secondary partition and it works perfectly fine. GENPLUS loads from my fat32 partition and loads roms from that same partition with no problems at all.

    I actually just went back and verified with 2 hard drives how they are setup and both are setup as fat32 as secondary partition. But it is a good suggestion none the less for the OP to try.
    Thanks I thought this was the case to as mine is set up like yours


  12. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sherwood Forest, UK.
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm having this problem too, works fine if I load from my SD card but won't detect my HDD, which is just a clone of the SD card on the FAT32 partition (second partition on the drive)

    Do you think the Genesis emulator will get any more updates to it? Mine often crashes out or stops working properly, making me have to close and reopen the emulator.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •