Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: fat32 partition not showing on 1tb in windows explorer

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Us fat32 partition not showing on 1tb in windows explorer

    hi i bought a 1tb hdd and i formatted it to fat32 and then i partitioned it with sd/usb loader v1.5 to 500gig
    wbfs and 497gig fat32 and everytime i try to open it with windows explorer it just says needs to format i wanted to use the fat32 side for home brew or avi's but cant access it,any help would be appreciated and thank you in advance.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4,784
    Thanks
    787
    Thanked 1,791 Times in 1,262 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    It's probably telling you to format your wbfs partition. Does it to me all the time. Open my computer and see if you can see your fat32 partition there.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    nope same thing just asks me to format,is there any kinda program i can use to check it?cuz i know i formatted it to fat32 using swiss knife and used sd/usb loader to partition it???

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4,784
    Thanks
    787
    Thanked 1,791 Times in 1,262 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Click the usb link in my sig and partition and format that way. Should work for you

  5. 1 User Says Thank You junkmail For This Useful Post


  6. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    thanks dood! i now have a ntfs drive that shows up in explorer im useing xp and suck no sucked at partitions now i can use triiforce wwoooooooooooooooooooooooo thanks bra!!


    ps-
    2a. From the WinXP: Right click on My Computer> Go to Manage>Click on Disk Management
    2b. From Vista/Win7: Go to Control Panel> Administrative Tools>Computer Manager>Disk

    this is what i had to do.basicly i had to use disc manager to activate and partition the second half of my drive step by step.so it reads now but only draw back is now it is ntfs cuz i couldnt format it to fat32 i tried useing swissknife but it keeps freezing up any suggestions,and thanks again

    Mod edit;
    d) Responses depend on the availability, expertise, and good-nature of other members and staff. Do not “bump” your post within 24 hours of posting.

    Use the edit button to add or change info.
    Last edited by oddgriffin; 05-20-2010 at 08:10 AM.

  7. 1 User Says Thank You kidvid666 For This Useful Post


  8. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    format partition

    partition wziard tech you how to do format partition;
    • First select a partition you would like to format. There are three ways to format a chosen partition:

      • a. Select Format in the menu Partition.
      • b. Click Format button in the Tool Bar.
      • c. Select the button Format Partition under the group Partition Operations in the Action Panel.
    • When using this function, you need to reset the drive letter and Cluster Size of the new partition. The scope of Cluster Size is 512 Bytes, 1KB, 2KB, 4KB, 8KB, 16KB, 32KB, 64 KB. We usually recommend you use the default size. When you use the default, Partition Wizard will work out the proper Cluster Size according to the size of the partition.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •