Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Failed softmod / Wii won't Boot / Possibly Bricked

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Failed softmod / Wii won't Boot / Possibly Bricked

    I have a 4.2E with Wiikey and once i tryed to softmod, but I ccouldn't do it for a lot of problems.

    And now i need some answers for what should I do.

    1. Unistall all trace of softmod so I will not run risk of a brick while upgrading.

    OR

    2. Continue softmodding.

    I don't remember where I was stuck in softmodding, so, for now I have just unistalled Homebrew Channel, but how can i know what cIOS I have touched via softmodding? _

    I just remember that i followed this guide http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...tem-menus.html and I couldn't load NeoGamma. I don't have NAND backup. And I just want to know if I risk while upgrading in a future fw.

    Help please. _

  2. #2
    New Member streetsurfer158's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    217
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 50 Times in 35 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Download signcheck, place files into the apps folder on your sd card, run it through hbc. It saves a .csv file to the root of your sd card... open it using notepad on your PC or MAC then copy and paste the results here.
    Last edited by streetsurfer158; 04-21-2010 at 09:23 AM.

  3. #3
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Krafter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4,426
    Thanks
    460
    Thanked 1,092 Times in 857 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by streetsurfer158 View Post
    Download signcheck, place files into the apps folder on your sd card, run it through hbc. It saves a .csv file to the root of your sd card... open it using notepad on your PC or MAC then copy and paste the results here.
    Of course you will have to re-install Homebrew but that was probably obvious.

  4. 1 User Says Thank You Krafter For This Useful Post


  5. #4
    New Member streetsurfer158's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    217
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 50 Times in 35 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Krafter View Post
    Of course you will have to re-install Homebrew but that was probably obvious.
    Thank you krafter, I missed that... lol I would have confused him!

  6. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Here we are!

    "SignCheck 0.3b aka loveSexWii build report"
    "Wii region", Europe
    "Wii unique device id", 46358013

    "IOS number", "Trucha bug", "Flash access", "Boot2 access", "Usb2.0 IOS tree"

    "IOS250 (ver 65535)", Enabled, Disabled, Disabled, Enabled
    "IOS70 (ver 6687)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS61 (ver 5405)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS57 (ver 5661)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS56 (ver 5405)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS55 (ver 5406)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS53 (ver 5406)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS38 (ver 3867)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS37 (ver 3869)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS36 (ver 3351)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS35 (ver 3349)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS34 (ver 3348)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS33 (ver 3091)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS31 (ver 3349)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS28 (ver 1550)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS22 (ver 1037)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS17 (ver 775)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS14 (ver 520)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS13 (ver 273)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled

    So, I decided to continue to softmodding ('cause MH3 is giving hell). I have a 4.2E Wii, tell me what to do now please. :D

  7. #6
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Looks like you uninstalled the stub cIOS but failed to install useful ones. Try and install HBC again. Skip the removal of cIOS and go straight to cIOS installation. USB Loaders or Neogamma will not function until you do so.
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

  8. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    But HBC is already installed, do I have to unistall and reinstall again?

    And from the guide, I have to restart from point C?

    And can I still make the backup of NAND?

    Thanks.
    Last edited by Hirutake; 04-26-2010 at 05:47 AM.

  9. #8
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Krafter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4,426
    Thanks
    460
    Thanked 1,092 Times in 857 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Hirutake View Post
    I don't remember where I was stuck in softmodding, so, for now I have just unistalled Homebrew Channel, but how can i know what cIOS I have touched via softmodding?
    No we was just confused because you said this, lol.

    Just start over from the beginning and just eliminate the install of HBC, DVDX and bootmii. I say that but if you no longer have your bootmii folder on your SD then you will have to reinstall and select the option to prepare your SD card.

    Oh and yes you can still make a backup of your nand as sugested in the guide but you need to have bootmii working first. (see above)
    Last edited by Krafter; 04-26-2010 at 05:54 AM.

  10. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok, I prepared the SD card, installed bootmii as boot2 but, when i start my Wii, bootmii doesn't load. (Black screen).

    Should I install as ios? Or? (mind that i don't have a gc controller :P )

    Thanks.

  11. #10
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Krafter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4,426
    Thanks
    460
    Thanked 1,092 Times in 857 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5
    What do you mean by a black screen? Your wii wont boot? If it doesn't load up into bootmii it should boot up into the wii menu. It's not doing that? If not try and take out the SD card and restart.

    And no, boot2 is by far the best install option.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •