Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Mario Kart wii get black screen/freeze when starting game.

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Mario Kart wii get black screen/freeze when starting game.

    Got a north american wii 4.1, cios249. I can play Red Steel 2 fine, as well as Punch out (with region check off). Both Mario Kart and tatsunoko vs capcom boot fine but 30 seconds or so into the game it will black screen and freeze or just freeze and loop the sound.

    Im burning on Maxtor DVD-R at 1x (adjust to 4x) white tops. Red Steel plays on Staples brand DVD-R fine! (imagine that). using imgburn.

    Any idea's? i tried different neogamma settings and burned two copies with niothing else running. Get Verbatims and report back?

    Very computer savvy but a complete Newbie to this.

    Thanks for your help!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,219
    Thanks
    699
    Thanked 2,297 Times in 1,217 Posts
    Blog Entries
    17
    Well first off welcome to the site. Make sure to post an introduction in the Introduce Yourself forum so you can get a greeting with lots of necessary information.

    Black screen in the middle of a game usually means a bad dump. You could try downloading them from a different source.

    Get Verbatims and report back?
    There are a lot of opinions on these. It's unquestioned that Verbatim/Taiyo Yuden are the top brand discs you can buy and keep your laser healthier for a longer period of time. But other people have had success using other brands. If downloading the games from a different source doesn't work, you could try different media and it might help.
    "I think that the Wii is a beautiful piece of hardware, and a broken Wii is a tragedy. It doesn’t matter why or how." -- Bushing

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the reply, ill try another dump, also would it being a (pal) region effect it in any way. it seems all the dumps i find are PAL games and i believe north america Wiis are NTSC?

  4. #4
    New Member WII-KING's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    On A Rock!
    Posts
    187
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BeerManMike View Post
    Thanks for the reply, ill try another dump, also would it being a (pal) region effect it in any way. it seems all the dumps i find are PAL games and i believe north america Wiis are NTSC?
    NTSC is usa & pal is for europe.

    Im also new here & new to all this hacking stuff,i have read that the slower the better for burning wii ISOs & imgburn is one of the top free burning tools to burn them with. ( I use it myself ) but ive also read that ( cant remember if it was here, so dont quote me on it ) dont burn your ISO's less then X3 if you can burn at X3 then thats perfect for the wii,& no higher then X4.Also a wii ISO should be 4.37gb if it isn't, as i have found out recently dont bother burning it.This could be your problem,or as other post said,bad dump.

    PS:where are you getting theses pal ISOs from then?
    Last edited by WII-KING; 04-13-2010 at 03:33 PM.







  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yea, i do 4x usually and they are 4.37gb. I don't know if it's agaisn't the rules but i get them from btjunkie, although im going to search the "bay" tonight. Also, PM locations of NTSC places? again, if its not agaisn't the rules.

    Any other tips or tricks with dealing with games that boot fine and then black screen/freeze within' 30 seconds? settings? verbatim + new/different dump seems to be the first choice.

  6. #6
    New Member WII-KING's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    On A Rock!
    Posts
    187
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BeerManMike View Post
    Yea, i do 4x usually and they are 4.37gb. I don't know if it's agaisn't the rules but i get them from btjunkie, although im going to search the "bay" tonight. Also, PM locations of NTSC places? again, if its not agaisn't the rules.

    Any other tips or tricks with dealing with games that boot fine and then black screen/freeze within' 30 seconds? settings? verbatim + new/different dump seems to be the first choice.
    Your useing a torrent site for your ISOs, thats just asking for trouble.

    Shoot me an email i'll sort ya out.







  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,219
    Thanks
    699
    Thanked 2,297 Times in 1,217 Posts
    Blog Entries
    17
    When an ISO is under the 4.37GB mark it generally is a scrubbed release of the game. What this means is the group who uploaded it took out all the unnecessary data and left only the important game information (sometimes even including the update partition on the disc). These are released this way to reduce the size of the download.

    If you're looking for a decent site Mike, I'd suggest you hop onto ntorrents asap while registration is still open. It's a highly requested private tracker which stands head and shoulders above the publics ones you're probably used to. Register :: Ntorrents.net

    Any other tips or tricks with dealing with games that boot fine and then black screen/freeze within' 30 seconds? settings? verbatim + new/different dump seems to be the first choice.
    That's usually it, and like I mentioned it's generally a dump issue. Disc read errors almost always happen when you try to load the game initially.
    "I think that the Wii is a beautiful piece of hardware, and a broken Wii is a tragedy. It doesn’t matter why or how." -- Bushing

  8. 1 User Says Thank You Ithian For This Useful Post


  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for that site, ill try a couple later on. On my way to staples to get some verbatim dvds. And i do plan to seed quite a bit, seeing all the help i get here. thanks!

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Any luck?

    I am trying to do the same thing. Have you had any luck?

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok, Wal-mart, Target and Staples all don't have Verbatims (wth?) so when i get my Amazon $25 GC in the snail mail im going to buy a pack of 50. For now i got a couple NTSC and good dumps from a nice place and ill try one or two on Maxtor DVD-R and Staples DVD-R and report back with finding in the morning. Thanks everyone and good night!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •