Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Need help trying to softmod 4.2e wii 2nd step

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Need help trying to softmod 4.2e wii 2nd step

    This is the step im up to:
    A2)Run to your wii, place the card in the SD slot and navigate to the SD card icon, bottom left, writes SD and has the same shape, can't really miss it. Once you did this, a warning screen about scams should appear, press ok, screen will go black. A disclaimer shall appear, press one to continue.

    I do this, and get to the 'Load boot.dol/elf? screen comes, i click yes.
    and the screen goes black and stays black. the disclaimer never appears so there is no way to press one to continue.
    does anyone know why this is happening? and how i can fix it?

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
    here use this boot.elf file MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service try this one instead of that one

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
    okay i just looked at his tutorial...to do step A2...try going to settings, data management, channels, sd card and then choose yes to load boot .elf it works this way for 4.1 wii's
    Last edited by letsgetwii; 03-12-2010 at 05:34 AM.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    oh. didnt know you could even open SD card that way.
    but, this time it just froze when i clicked on SD card.
    it didnt even bring up the load screen..
    Last edited by bendy169; 03-12-2010 at 05:38 AM.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Cile's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,071
    Thanks
    666
    Thanked 2,304 Times in 1,226 Posts
    Blog Entries
    9
    try formating the sd again to fat32 full format

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
    from the moment before you power your wii on keep your sd card out of the wii until you get to that screen then insert it try it both ways through the menu screen 1st or 2nd through the way i told u....the reason you do it this way is because version 4.2 checks for the files you have on your card when you turn on the wii
    Last edited by letsgetwii; 03-12-2010 at 05:49 AM.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
    did you turn on the wii without the sd card in it....and then put it in when you entered the menu screen yet?

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    yeah tried that, through the channels menu it just froze when i put it in.. but im trying it now with the boot.elf file i had before.. see if it works that way.

    @ Cile:
    ive reformatted the card everytime ive changed the files on it (Always to fat32) so this shouldnt be the problem.

    Edit: umm something strange i just noticed, i went to to it again and in place of the channels menu was Gamecube :S i didnt have the SD card in yet either.
    however after leaving and coming back its now 'Channels' again.
    Last edited by bendy169; 03-12-2010 at 06:02 AM.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Cile's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,071
    Thanks
    666
    Thanked 2,304 Times in 1,226 Posts
    Blog Entries
    9
    whats the brand of the sd your using you sure you did a full format (takes bout good10-15min) then just extract the downloaded pack of the guide onto the sd....

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    the brand is Lexar. ive never heard of it before, it was the only one i could find lying around tho.
    do you think it would be worth while getting a sandisk or something?
    yeh i just re formated it again. (i assume a full format is when you uncheck the box that says quick format)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •