Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: scrubbin iso's for torrents

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    scrubbin iso's for torrents

    at the risk of being sent to the reading room for only searching for an hour i'm gonna post this
    i found answers elsewhere but i'm leary of excepting wii advice from anywhere but wiihacks
    can someone tell me if winrar does same thing as wii scrubber +\- a couple extra features in
    wiiscrubber ?
    scrub type {whatever thats for}
    remove headers
    why would i want to remove headers? for compression purposes or compatibility?
    whenever you guys get a chance any insight would be extremely appreciated!
    i understand you guys are doing this as a service to the wii community and your not paid tech support
    thankyou in advance

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    I live on Earth like all humans do. Or do they?
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tchk View Post
    at the risk of being sent to the reading room for only searching for an hour i'm gonna post this
    i found answers elsewhere but i'm leary of excepting wii advice from anywhere but wiihacks
    can someone tell me if winrar does same thing as wii scrubber +\- a couple extra features in
    wiiscrubber ?
    scrub type {whatever thats for}
    remove headers
    why would i want to remove headers? for compression purposes or compatibility?
    whenever you guys get a chance any insight would be extremely appreciated!
    i understand you guys are doing this as a service to the wii community and your not paid tech support
    thankyou in advance
    I believe so... It depends on what you want to do with it.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    when i compress with winrar i end up with same size file as scrubbin it
    i'm tryin to upload it and make it as compatible as possible

  4. #4
    Junior Member Matt-M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 26 Times in 22 Posts
    Scrubbing removes filler data and things like system updates that are on the game disc's. When using usb loaders most people like to use just the game data, and this is why most people use some type of wbfs program to scrub the game before putting on the drive.

  5. 1 User Says Thank You Matt-M For This Useful Post


  6. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    so if i load everything to usbloader with my wbfs manager and then clone the hd everything will be scrubbed ?

  7. #6
    Retired WiiHacks Staff ShadowSonic2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Green Hill Zone
    Posts
    3,658
    Thanks
    295
    Thanked 3,896 Times in 987 Posts
    Blog Entries
    47
    Correct using Wii Scrubber or extracting an installed iso with WBFS Manager gets rid of the junk-data, only leaving the actual game data thus making the game more compressible when compressed be WinRAR.

  8. 1 User Says Thank You ShadowSonic2 For This Useful Post


  9. #7
    New Member DJMic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Alberta Man
    Posts
    146
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am trying to get a game that does not load or hangs and from what I am reading it comes down to not having a IOS how can I change the IOS on an ISO image to allow it to play?
    I am using a DriveKey not softmod and just backing up the iso to disc
    However after the splash screen Animal Crossing just hangs on a black screen on the ISO currently is IOS38 and this is not loading I have also attached a screen shot of what scrub shows me on the original ISO that is NOT loading.

  10. #8
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    Wall-Eyed Mucksucker
    emuhack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Windy City
    Posts
    7,473
    Thanks
    892
    Thanked 2,132 Times in 1,347 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    You can change the IOS of an ISO with this Program = IOS Patcher 1.1



  11. #9
    New Member DJMic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Alberta Man
    Posts
    146
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes I have that program but what do I change the IOS to?
    And after I have patched it all I do is record the new iso?

  12. #10
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    Wall-Eyed Mucksucker
    emuhack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Windy City
    Posts
    7,473
    Thanks
    892
    Thanked 2,132 Times in 1,347 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    Well i have never had to use it because i have softmod and i just load the newest version of a IOS when need be....

    Take a game that works and check out the IOS and then patch it to the Same one as the Working Game... Or what you can do is softmod your wii and not have to worry about it...


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •