Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: Korean semi-bricked wii

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Korean semi-bricked wii

    Hi,

    I bought a Korean wii from grey market in India a couple of months back. The wii has been soft-modded with all the menu's in english (except for the safety screen on some games or when i press system button on the downloaded games).

    The wii came pre-loaded with a homebrew channel and a gamma 03 backup channel loader and was able to run most of the downloaded games till now including games like Grand slam tennis for which i had to run a error 002 fix

    But of late i have been facing the following problems -

    a. I am not able to access the settings page as the wii appears to be semi-bricked (It shows a white screen with three dots)
    b. I am not able to play games like Mario kart, NFS Carbon (these hang up on a black screen), Wii sports resort (shows error 002)

    As i was browsing through the threads i realized that i will need to upgrade to latest version of firmware and use neogamma. But as my wii is semi-bricked i am unable to find out which version and region of firmware is it currently using.

    Will be really great if someone could help me out in finding which version of firmware is running on my wii and how can i get these games to run

  2. #2
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    If it's a Korean Wii modded to USA firmware then updating that via internet will brick you with 003 error. So avoid that.

    Do you know which disc bricked you?
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The wii was semi-bricked from the beginning. In fact initially even the mii channel was not working but that i could luckily resolve with help of channel manager. But the setting page is still not working.

  4. #4
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Do you have any idea if the Wii was modded to work in any particular region?
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Actually no. The menus are in English throughout and i have actually been able to play both PAL and NTSC version of some games

  6. #6
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Ok so which country do you live in?
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I live in India but bought the system from grey market

  8. #8
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Ok, saw that you got it in India but thought maybe you were travelling at the time.

    India, apparently is PAL, so perhaps your Wii is modded to PAL from it's Korean origin.

    The Wii may have been semi-bricked while converting from Korean to PAL or it could have been bricked by running a USA game update on the PAL mod. Hard to tell.

    Do you have Homebrew Channel installed?

    Do you have the SD channel icon on your main screen?
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have a homebrew channel installed. But i don`t have a SD channel icon on main screen. I can however access SD card from the data management tab under Wii system

  10. #10
    Retired WiiHacks Staff Tealc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny Wales, UK
    Posts
    7,152
    Thanks
    502
    Thanked 4,104 Times in 2,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Ok just checking.

    Run Signcheck signCheck - WiiBrew by placing in sd:\apps\signcheck\ and running in Homebrew Channel.

    Follow onscreen prompts and post the text from the resultant signcheck.csv file it creates on your SD card.
    Not really doing much Wii stuff these days.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •