Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Firmware Updater 4.1 with no internet

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Firmware Updater 4.1 with no internet

    Hi guys,

    I have searched and scanned, but haven't found an answer:

    How can I run the 4.1 updater when I have no internet conx? Is there a wad or something I can use for this?

    I am in the process of fixing the wifi range issue that prevents reception, but for now there is no wifi for Wii.

    I used the 3.1 to 4.1 guide by dogeggs and have stalled now on step 4.

    The second part of my query is, are there any risks if I leave the firmware update out at this point? I have no intention of using the internet from the Wii for now.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
    I dont think there is a way to update 'safely' without using waninkoko's updater. which as you know needs the internet.

    It is perfectly fine to carry on without updated as long as you are on a menu that is not in big red letters. Because preloader wont install on certain menu versions.

    What version are you on right now?
    Last edited by kirky_D; 01-19-2010 at 04:23 AM.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    4.0e is what the unit is right now. Cant recall any big red letters! lol
    If it is OK to leave it at cIOS249 v14 and IOS60 patched, but not firmware updated to 4.1, then I am happy to wait till the interwebz gets connected to the Wii again.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rec0n View Post
    4.0e is what the unit is right now. Cant recall any big red letters! lol
    If it is OK to leave it at cIOS249 v14 and IOS60 patched, but not firmware updated to 4.1, then I am happy to wait till the interwebz gets connected to the Wii again.
    yea, thats fine. you can carry on to install preloader. cant see big red letters? need to read a bit more carefully

  5. #5
    New Member albertbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    398
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 100 Times in 91 Posts
    Ive seen people reply to these kind of threads with ways of doing this offline, but the method escapes me, maybe someone else will come along that knows.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kirky_D View Post
    yea, thats fine. you can carry on to install preloader. cant see big red letters? need to read a bit more carefully
    I don't get what you mean...am I supposed to see big red letters somewhere?

    Otherwise, I would settle for someone telling me how to get my Netgear DG834Gv5 router to connect to the Wii without fault 52230 coming up.

    Very painful!!

    Thanks for the replies all.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rec0n View Post
    I don't get what you mean...am I supposed to see big red letters somewhere?

    Otherwise, I would settle for someone telling me how to get my Netgear DG834Gv5 router to connect to the Wii without fault 52230 coming up.

    Very painful!!

    Thanks for the replies all.
    This is what I meant. Hope you can sort it all out. Don't know much about your router issue though. Sorry.


  8. #8
    Junior Member Bloodfest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 20 Times in 17 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kirky_D View Post
    This is what I meant. Hope you can sort it all out. Don't know much about your router issue though. Sorry.

    LOL, those red letters are for the person reading the tutorial so they know to pay attention to that part. The person will not see big red numbers or letters anywhere on the wii.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bloodfest View Post
    LOL, those red letters are for the person reading the tutorial so they know to pay attention to that part. The person will not see big red numbers or letters anywhere on the wii.
    AH! I see the confusion now. What I mean when I said this

    "It is perfectly fine to carry on without updated as long as you are on a menu that is not in big red letters. Because preloader wont install on certain menu versions."

    was the big red letters in the guide, because the original poster said he was stalled on part 4 of the guide. lol.

  10. #10
    Member dr34m3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    657
    Thanks
    91
    Thanked 201 Times in 180 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rec0n View Post
    4.0e is what the unit is right now. Cant recall any big red letters! lol
    If it is OK to leave it at cIOS249 v14 and IOS60 patched, but not firmware updated to 4.1, then I am happy to wait till the interwebz gets connected to the Wii again.
    You can find the system menu wad in Dogeggs sig.

    Before you update to 4.1 make sure you have at least 250 blocks free or you will brick, install IOS60-patched first with Wad Manager using IOS249, then download this file since you say it is Pal SystemMenu-PAL-v450.rar.

    Only install above file if your wii is PAL
    and make sure you have installed patched IOS 60 first.

    *****For more info about System menu and what IOS it needs see System Menu - WiiBrew

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •