Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: another dumb newbie question

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

    another dumb newbie question

    ok, softmodded my console and updated to 4.1u, added usb loader and all is well with the world, lol!! a great big thank you to all that were kind enough to share and record their guides and how to's here.

    here's the questions however:

    when i start (power up) my console it automatically goes right to the gray screen with the 4 "blocks" on it (WII, HOMEBREW, etc) that can only be accessed and selected by the buttons on the console. is this normal?? if not, how do i get it to boot up to either the "normal" Wii system menu, or something that can be selected via the controller?? if i take my SD card out and boot it goes to a white screen with menu selections in the form of a list on it (starting with "system menu" at the top of the list), but that method removes the graphics from the game selection list on the HDD when accessed through USB loader.

    did i do something in error in my mod attempt, or is this normal? can i get around it to make it more simple to operate for my wife and grandkids?? the less they have to fool with (like removing or replacing the SD card, etc) the better off i know i will be in the long run, lol.

    thanks for the help.

  2. #2
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    Wall-Eyed Mucksucker
    emuhack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Windy City
    Posts
    7,471
    Thanks
    892
    Thanked 2,132 Times in 1,347 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    it is because you have the bootmii folder on the root of the sd card.... you can remove the folder to the pc and keep in a safe place... if you ever need to load bootmii or restore your NAND then all you do is put the folder back on the root of the sd card and everything will be fine.....

    and now the second white screen issue... this is called priiloader and you need to go into the settings menu and select boot to system menu and that should take care of it and you should then boot to the normal wii menu....


  3. 1 User Says Thank You emuhack For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
    emuhack, many thanks for the information. i knew there were files that i could remove from the SD, but i couldn't find the post here that described them, so i just left all as it was just to be safe (i admit to being a complete newbie at thsi point, but i'm getting better, lol).

    exactly what files are needed on the SD and can all else be removed for safekeeping to my pc as you indicated?

    thanks again for the help.

  5. #4
    WiiHacks Staff
    Only Site Donators Can PM Staff
    Forum Administrator
    IRC AOP
    Wall-Eyed Mucksucker
    emuhack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Windy City
    Posts
    7,471
    Thanks
    892
    Thanked 2,132 Times in 1,347 Posts
    Blog Entries
    13
    Well.... it all depends on what you are going to run from the wii.... what i have on mine is a little more complicated to explain but i when i first started....

    * leave all folder and files the way that they are exept the bootmii
    * as you explore different apps and programs that you can run then you will get more aquantied with what to keep and what you can delete
    * but for now just remove the bootmii folder to your computer and you can leave everything else and it will not hurt anything


  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
    thanks. i'll do that that this evening. when i was trying to figure all this out, i remember reading a post here that described what was necessary to leave and what all could be taken off, but for the life of me when i tired to find it again, i couldn't. i appreciate your help and the solution to my situation.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Scotland's central belt
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    You don't need to remove the bootmii folder, just rename it to something else. But take a backup as well :-)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •