Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: After hbc, original smb disc not working

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    After hbc, original smb disc not working

    Hi,
    I'm new to this forum..i installed the homebrew channel. after that when i go to play my original disc super mario bros, it does not work. all my other originals work..what may be the problem? is it something else that got installed or changed? my wii is 4.1u


    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,186
    Thanks
    2,203
    Thanked 2,571 Times in 2,009 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    What does it do exactly? homebrew was all that was installed, no cios?
    Sent from my van, down by the river.




    Never quantify your life by comparison. It is always going to be apples to oranges. If you feel the need to always look down on others, you currently do not own enough mirrors------ Tommie Griffin.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    ...

    yes, i tried the cios38_rev13...but i didn't think it took..i had problems with it...i got the instructions somewhere else, before i discovered this site..
    i'm a noob!! what can i do..my wife just got that smb game for xmas and she wants to play it..all our other originals play fine..
    what can i do to correct this??
    it's tough finding an updated forum for the softmod without going through 900 pages of replies and finding what is new and works..
    system is 4.1u as i said..should i update???

    thanks in advance

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,186
    Thanks
    2,203
    Thanked 2,571 Times in 2,009 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Updating won't help, is that what it is asking to do. seeing as how you are not telling me what the error is or what exactly is happening when you try to play. I am clueless.
    Sent from my van, down by the river.




    Never quantify your life by comparison. It is always going to be apples to oranges. If you feel the need to always look down on others, you currently do not own enough mirrors------ Tommie Griffin.

  5. 1 User Says Thank You oddgriffin For This Useful Post


  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    ..

    ..ok, i insert the super mario bros disc, i go to the disc channel and click on it..the game loads with the main screen and when i click start the screen goes black and says disc error...as i said, all my other originals work fine..what did i screw up? can i change what i 'thought i did'? i just wanted to install the hbc and a backup loader..

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,186
    Thanks
    2,203
    Thanked 2,571 Times in 2,009 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Well you may have been successfull in installing the outdated cios. I would suggest at this point since you are already half way there. you should go to the guides section and find the 3.1-4.1 softmod guide. Download the files and start at the point where it says to install cios rev14. If this works continue on, it will be easy since you are on 4.1. If the cios won't install go to the part after homebrew install.
    Sent from my van, down by the river.




    Never quantify your life by comparison. It is always going to be apples to oranges. If you feel the need to always look down on others, you currently do not own enough mirrors------ Tommie Griffin.

  8. 1 User Says Thank You oddgriffin For This Useful Post


  9. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ok, so i erased my hbc and started from scratch.. i used the tutorial on softmod for the 4.1..everything went well. i followed it to a T from start to finish. i reboot the wii and now have that preloader menu.. i went to system menu. i put my original super mario bros game in and select the disc channel..it states 'this disc cannot be read'. so i went to the neogamma channel and tried to load it through there. i got a green flash, and then it said 'this disc cannot be read....i am stumped..i also tried a backup of super mario bros through neogamma and when it started to load, it went to a 'staticy' screen and then rebooted to the neogamma main menu.....

  10. #8
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,186
    Thanks
    2,203
    Thanked 2,571 Times in 2,009 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    The only thing that makes sense to me at this point is that the original disk must be defective. As far as the backup goes, there is a guide in the games section to get that going, all it needs is a simple patch.
    Sent from my van, down by the river.




    Never quantify your life by comparison. It is always going to be apples to oranges. If you feel the need to always look down on others, you currently do not own enough mirrors------ Tommie Griffin.

  11. 1 User Says Thank You oddgriffin For This Useful Post


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •