Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Wow a bit overwhelmed.....

  1. #1
    Junior Member spTimmay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wow a bit overwhelmed.....

    Ok been looking into modding our wii so we can play backups. My son is very careless and we have gone thru 2 copies of mario kart already. I know I have system menu 4.2, thats about all I know so far.
    Heres what Ive gathered so far, someone please correct any of this if its wrong.

    In order to burn copies of the wii games you need a special dvd drive and special software.

    then in order to run them you need homebrew or some other mod.

    nintendo can spot homebrew and ban you from wifi play.....

    and if you screw up something with homebrew you now have a $200 brick......

    oh and I will assume game copy wizard is crap.....

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    A week ago I was in your same position and now I can do pretty much anything I want to do. Read the tutorial for your system menu and follow it exactly. Don't post???? without reading. The answer to 99.9% of your ??? are in the tutorials. Good Luck.

  3. 1 User Says Thank You readyrmca For This Useful Post


  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Retired Staff
    davepm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Lincoln, Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,561
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 2,059 Times in 831 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by sptimmay View Post
    ok been looking into modding our wii so we can play backups. My son is very careless and we have gone thru 2 copies of mario kart already. I know i have system menu 4.2, thats about all i know so far.
    Heres what ive gathered so far, someone please correct any of this if its wrong.

    In order to burn copies of the wii games you need a special dvd drive and special software. wrong! Imgburn (free) and any dvd burner

    then in order to run them you need homebrew or some other mod. yes

    nintendo can spot homebrew and ban you from wifi play.....wrong

    and if you screw up something with homebrew you now have a $200 brick......not if you follow guide properly!

    oh and i will assume game copy wizard is crap.....true

    1234567890

  5. 1 User Says Thank You davepm For This Useful Post


  6. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 19 Times in 14 Posts
    o.o..rawr! dont be intimmidated, a few days ago i felt just like you did and now i have owned my wii like a super l33t nub caek o.o...... yeah, but anyway im saying dont worry, first just check your system menu version by clicking "wii" in the circle on your menu, and going into settings, if you have v 3.1 or anything higher as long as its not 4.2 , then follow this guide to the letter : http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...d-any-wii.html


    if you have 4.2 follow this guide : http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...tem-menus.html


    if you have any questions drop me a pm ^^

  7. 1 User Says Thank You MooCowGal For This Useful Post


  8. #5
    Junior Member spTimmay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok i got imgburn from the link here and had no luck. The game would not be recognized in the dvd drive. I followed instructions for xp and vista...

  9. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Wigan, England
    Posts
    335
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 101 Times in 86 Posts
    OK, you have 4.2 as your system menu. POssibility you have the new chipset which stops you running backup disks.

    You will need a HDD to run backup games, which is the better solution anyway IMO.

    Is your Wii Black? or How old is your Wii??

  10. 1 User Says Thank You GazNicki For This Useful Post


  11. #7
    Senior Member
    Retired Staff
    davepm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Lincoln, Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,561
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 2,059 Times in 831 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1
    the pc will not read a wii disc.

    You said you were trying to burn, so i assume you have an iso file, you burn this, slowly, onto good quality discs with imgburn.

    If you are trying to copy a retail disc, you will need a USB HDD plugged into your wii and use a USB loader to dump the disc to the HDD.

  12. 1 User Says Thank You davepm For This Useful Post


  13. #8
    Junior Member spTimmay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok thanks for the replies. Its an older wii, bought it 2 years ago, but its been updated and the system menu says ver. 4.2U
    I did just recently replace the dvdrom drive....

    Well I was trying to see if the pc would recognize the disc using raw dump and try to make a copy that way. i guess I didn't read enough....

  14. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Wigan, England
    Posts
    335
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 101 Times in 86 Posts
    As mentioned, you will need to rip the Wii Game onto a HDD plugged into your Wii. Then transfer your HDD onto the PC and burn the game onto a Good Quality (which cannot be stressed enough) DVD-R at the Slowest Possible Speed (again, cannot be stressed enough).

    Of you could just have a HDD plugged into the back and run games off the HDD. Makes life easier ... and cheaper lol.

  15. #10
    Junior Member spTimmay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hdd? like an external hard drive or a usb flash drive?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •