Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Can I SOFTMOD my wii from XMAS?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can I SOFTMOD my wii from XMAS?

    I got a wii for xmas, I think it's one of the newest models, serial number started with LU71XXXXX..

    I'm looking for a softmod. I looked at the forum and saw lots of tuts but they are created mainly may 2009, I've heard that some wiis are not moddable? I'm not sure at all and i need to explanation before i start with the tut so im not bricking anything XD.

    thanks alot this forum looks great for a beginner like me to get started with the wii.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,186
    Thanks
    2,203
    Thanked 2,571 Times in 2,009 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    They are all moddable, it is just that the newer wii have the d2-3 chip that will not play backups from disk. You need to use an sd card or usb device.
    Sent from my van, down by the river.




    Never quantify your life by comparison. It is always going to be apples to oranges. If you feel the need to always look down on others, you currently do not own enough mirrors------ Tommie Griffin.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Oh i see interesting. Is there any FAQ for people new to the scene? or anything I should know before i start? which guide do you recommend?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    WiiHacks Staff
    Senior Moderator
    Only site donators may send a PM to WiiHacks Staff
    oddgriffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Franklin, Ohio. USA
    Posts
    10,186
    Thanks
    2,203
    Thanked 2,571 Times in 2,009 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2
    Look up at the stickys in this section of the forum, right above this post.
    Sent from my van, down by the river.




    Never quantify your life by comparison. It is always going to be apples to oranges. If you feel the need to always look down on others, you currently do not own enough mirrors------ Tommie Griffin.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    right on. I read this http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...g-wii-faq.html and it helped me a TON!!

    i have another question tho. I don't have any games at all so is bannerbomb the only exploit i can use? Is it true bannerbomb might not work with my wii?

    last thing is you mentioned if i have the d2-3 chip then i can only play backup using SD or HDD. so how do i know if i have the d2-3?

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ztevenx View Post
    right on. I read this http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-...g-wii-faq.html and it helped me a TON!!

    i have another question tho. I don't have any games at all so is bannerbomb the only exploit i can use? Is it true bannerbomb might not work with my wii?

    last thing is you mentioned if i have the d2-3 chip then i can only play backup using SD or HDD. so how do i know if i have the d2-3?
    Read my post here: http://www.wiihacks.com/wiihacks-new...tml#post255529

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 19 Times in 14 Posts
    O.o my wii is brand new and plays backup dvds just fine

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •